Custom Music Locator

Talk about the MediaTracker here

Moderator: English Moderator

Jimbob2k666

Custom Music Locator

Post by Jimbob2k666 »

I'm new to trackmania's track making, and so far I have managed to find tutorials for adding your own music to Trackmania 1, which advises putting your .LOC file in the "ChallengeMusics" folder. However, in TM2 there is no folder with this name, instead in the MediaPlanet directory for TM2 this structure seems to be different. So far I have done this process:

• Created a track
• Converted an Mp3 into a .ogg file
• Converted the .ogg file into a .mux file
• Uploaded the .mux file to my own FTP server
• Created a .loc file with the URL inside
• Selected the music file in-game within the editor, validated and saved the track
• Uploaded the track to my dedicated server in "My Maps" and played it online

My problem seems to stem from not knowing where to put the locator file. I've removed the .mux from My Documents to test it but it doesn't download the music track. I know that custom music works already in TM2 as Ive been on other servers which have their own music.

Can anyone please shed some light on this for me?
TStarGermany

Re: Custom Music Locator

Post by TStarGermany »

The locator is a placeholder = It goes where the original would go.

To check whether the locator was correctly used, you can open the saved trackfile in any text editor and search for "http" .. then it should show the file's URL somewhere in the file... or you use GbxFileDumperto check the file dependencies.
Jimbob2k666

Post by Jimbob2k666 »

thanks for the reply. I opened the track with your gbxdump app, and it shows the dependency for music is this..

<dep file="Media\Musics\bad_ego.mux"/>