How to use bots in your title packs

Discuss everything related to custom data creation.

Moderator: NADEO

Kak0
Posts: 156
Joined: 11 May 2012, 09:25

Re: How to use bots in your title packs

Post by Kak0 »

steeffeen wrote:btw: is the attack filter meant to be ignored when using forced target or will they still attack a (usually) filtered target?
The attack filter isn't ignored, which might explain the behaviour you're describing : if the forced target is a human player while the attack filter excludes human players, the bot will run towards its target, but won't attack them. Is it your case ?
User avatar
steeffeen
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2472
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
Location: Germany

Re: How to use bots in your title packs

Post by steeffeen »

Kak0 wrote:The attack filter isn't ignored, which might explain the behaviour you're describing : if the forced target is a human player while the attack filter excludes human players, the bot will run towards its target, but won't attack them. Is it your case ?
great, thanks for clearing that up :thumbsup:

i'm using

Code: Select all

CSmPlayerDriver::ESmAttackFilter::AllOpposite
btw. it's quite annoying that there isn't a global naming convention applied to all maniascript classes/types :cry:
    Game Mode and Title Pack Creator, Developer, ShootMania-Player & more

    ManiaControl, FancyManiaLinks
    Kak0
    Posts: 156
    Joined: 11 May 2012, 09:25

    Re: How to use bots in your title packs

    Post by Kak0 »

    That's weird, the bot is supposed to attack opposite players as well then. Could I please have your bugging script ? My test doesn't show me any unwanted behaviour, it works fine for me.
    User avatar
    steeffeen
    Translator
    Translator
    Posts: 2472
    Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
    Location: Germany

    Re: How to use bots in your title packs

    Post by steeffeen »

    i will send you a private message later :thumbsup:
    thanks in advance
      Game Mode and Title Pack Creator, Developer, ShootMania-Player & more

      ManiaControl, FancyManiaLinks
      User avatar
      steeffeen
      Translator
      Translator
      Posts: 2472
      Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
      Location: Germany

      Re: How to use bots in your title packs

      Post by steeffeen »

      thanks for your help lately :)

      another small thing:
      when changing the Saunter_AnchorPoint it would be great if there would be a new target position calculated, currently the bots keep running to the last target position ^.^

      //Edit: my bots for example keep running to an old target position which they can't reach even though i've already set a completely different anchor point
        Game Mode and Title Pack Creator, Developer, ShootMania-Player & more

        ManiaControl, FancyManiaLinks
        User avatar
        steeffeen
        Translator
        Translator
        Posts: 2472
        Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
        Location: Germany

        Re: How to use bots in your title packs

        Post by steeffeen »

        bots are afraid of running below metal bridges :D
        http://www.pictures.esc-clan.net/upload ... Shot11.jpg
          Game Mode and Title Pack Creator, Developer, ShootMania-Player & more

          ManiaControl, FancyManiaLinks
          User avatar
          TitiShu
          Posts: 372
          Joined: 27 Feb 2012, 23:31
          Location: Belgique

          Re: How to use bots in your title packs

          Post by TitiShu »

          Superstition...

          I was afraid too the first time i've seen this block
          OS:Windows 8.1 x64
          CPU: i5 2500k
          RAM: 2x4Go G.Skill Ares
          GPU: MSI GTX570
          Board: Asus P8Z68-V LX
          HDD: WD Green + WD Black
          SSD: Crucial M4 64Go
          Sound: Realtek (onboard)
          Peripherals: Mouse G700 - Keyboard G19 - Headset Roccat Kave
          Valerik
          Posts: 5
          Joined: 26 Jul 2013, 21:26

          Re: How to use bots in your title packs

          Post by Valerik »

          hi all, i have a question =)
          when a bot dies, there is a way to take it's last position?
          Fadden
          Posts: 181
          Joined: 10 May 2011, 18:21

          Re: How to use bots in your title packs

          Post by Fadden »

          I have tested bots a lot this week-end, and it's so nice I had not any CTD. So gg and thx^^ :thumbsup:
          The only bug I noticed (but I do more simple things than what steefeen does^^) is this :
          - If a bot stops shooting and rushing the player because he is too far, he returns to his path. And sometimes (around once on 10 times), he starts to turn around and doesn't attack if the player is near...

          Oh and there is some problems with bots in the replay editor, but this is another subject.


          EDIT :
          @Valerik :
          Yes you can do this, on the events loop :

          Code: Select all

          case CSmModeEvent::EType::OnArmorEmpty: 
          {
              if(Event.Victim.IsBot)
              {
                    declare Bot <=> Event.Victim;
                    log(Bot.Position); //You can access to the position (Bot.Position.X, Bot.Position.Y, Bot.Position.Z)
                    DestroyBotPlayer(Bot);
              }
          }
          Elle est où la poulette ?
          Valerik
          Posts: 5
          Joined: 26 Jul 2013, 21:26

          Re: How to use bots in your title packs

          Post by Valerik »

          Thanks a lot =)
          Post Reply

          Return to “Title Pack & Custom Data Creation”

          Who is online

          Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests