[suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Discuss everything related to Shootmania.

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
mak5en
Posts: 24
Joined: 23 Apr 2012, 15:06
Location: Denmark
Contact:

[suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Post by mak5en » 10 Jul 2012, 15:55

Please make it possible to respawn on checkpoints in timeattack. Death = last checkpoint.
I see it is in the script for timeattack, but i think the game itself is not allowing spawns to occur anywhere else than the start spawn. I have been making long and hard timeattack maps (obstacle courses) and these maps are impossible to complete without a respawn at checkpoint function.

MaKseN
- Playing FPS since 1992
http://www.MarkWiggers.com

User avatar
ArNoz31
Posts: 48
Joined: 18 Jun 2010, 12:28

Re: [suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Post by ArNoz31 » 11 Jul 2012, 11:05

I was thinking of that too, so +1 ;)
Image

User avatar
mak5en
Posts: 24
Joined: 23 Apr 2012, 15:06
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: [suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Post by mak5en » 18 Jul 2012, 22:30

Iam still looking for any info on this subject. If anyone knows a script that does this, or if this could be inplemented soon, i would be very happy :)
- Playing FPS since 1992
http://www.MarkWiggers.com

kalstrams
Posts: 383
Joined: 06 Jul 2012, 22:56

Re: [suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Post by kalstrams » 19 Jul 2012, 11:37

Nice idea.
To make the things fair, to result should be displayed:
Time [Checkpoints taken]

User avatar
mak5en
Posts: 24
Joined: 23 Apr 2012, 15:06
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: [suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Post by mak5en » 19 Jul 2012, 16:28

kalstrams wrote:Nice idea.
To make the things fair, to result should be displayed:
Time [Checkpoints taken]
That wasnt the case in trackmania.
people who respawns alot, just uses more time. so for a perfect run timewise, you have to do a perfect run.. without respawning :) so no need for penalty in other ways imo.
- Im really looking forward to this getting to the game. I really wanna show people the map i build for this..
http://sm.mania-exchange.com/maps/169/urbanlegend
- Playing FPS since 1992
http://www.MarkWiggers.com

User avatar
mak5en
Posts: 24
Joined: 23 Apr 2012, 15:06
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: [suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Post by mak5en » 01 Aug 2012, 18:23

when i open TimeAttack.script.txt i see:

/** Respawn a player at the last checkpoint

But it dosnt seem to affect the game :S
i wish they would allow this to work..

any news on this?
- Playing FPS since 1992
http://www.MarkWiggers.com

User avatar
Eole
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 1227
Joined: 26 Apr 2011, 21:08

Re: [suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Post by Eole » 02 Aug 2012, 16:11

In older versions of ShootMania it was possible to spawn on any block, so that's why there's still some remains in the script. Finally it was disabled and it's not planned to be enabled again at the time being.
Contribute to the ManiaPlanet documentation on GitHub
A question about ManiaScript? Ask it here!

User avatar
Omnixor
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2959
Joined: 03 Jul 2010, 17:07
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: [suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Post by Omnixor » 02 Aug 2012, 17:34

so no checkpoint respawn? BAD decision Nadeo :0010
- staff head of ESL TM²Stadium -

User avatar
mak5en
Posts: 24
Joined: 23 Apr 2012, 15:06
Location: Denmark
Contact:

Re: [suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Post by mak5en » 03 Aug 2012, 03:28

:cry: Then we will never be able to make RPG maps like in trackmania.. where people used hours and hours on adventures...hm..sad that such a simple problem would ruin that.. i shouldnt have used 30 hours + building that obstaclecourse..

but could it then be done by connecting a seperate spawn for each checkpoint? so that if you die, you go back to the spawn belonging to the last checkpoint..
- Playing FPS since 1992
http://www.MarkWiggers.com

User avatar
Eole
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 1227
Joined: 26 Apr 2011, 21:08

Re: [suggestion] Respawn at checkpoints

Post by Eole » 03 Aug 2012, 11:32

It's not because the respawn is not implemented in the Time Attack mode that it's not possible at all. As you pointed out, it would be relatively easy to edit the TA mode and convert it into a RPG TA mode. With a spawn block associated with each checkpoint you could restart from there (just as in Siege). But you could also add a lot more features that doesn't really belong in the TA mode but would do really well for RPG.
Contribute to the ManiaPlanet documentation on GitHub
A question about ManiaScript? Ask it here!

Post Reply

Return to “Shootmania”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests