About bots..

Discuss everything related to Shootmania.

Moderator: English Moderator

Post Reply
volum
Posts: 19
Joined: 19 Aug 2011, 12:17

About bots..

Post by volum » 14 Jul 2012, 16:04

Please, please add possibility to add bots for editor, so you can test your map. Right now theres _no way_ to know how your map feels like, is it too big or small, are the hideouts in right spots, are poles too wide apart or too close, what to change and what to keep, etc etc... You can just walk around and estimate things, not actually play it and know. Its like doing a TM map without testing it with your car... Without bots in editor there will be big part missing.

Please add bots to editor it would be HUGE advance when making maps.

User avatar
jonthekiller
Translator
Translator
Posts: 4702
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 11:07
Location: In Maniaplanet Alpha
Contact:

Re: About bots..

Post by jonthekiller » 14 Jul 2012, 16:06

It's not possible to have good bots on ShootMania, they can't know how move on the map.
Image

hijink
Posts: 5
Joined: 12 Jul 2012, 20:27

Re: About bots..

Post by hijink » 15 Jul 2012, 01:50

jonthekiller wrote:It's not possible to have good bots on ShootMania, they can't know how move on the map.
I think it would be cool though if you could give bots certain paths to run just so you can practice shooting.

User avatar
jonthekiller
Translator
Translator
Posts: 4702
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 11:07
Location: In Maniaplanet Alpha
Contact:

Re: About bots..

Post by jonthekiller » 15 Jul 2012, 09:22

hijink wrote:
jonthekiller wrote:It's not possible to have good bots on ShootMania, they can't know how move on the map.
I think it would be cool though if you could give bots certain paths to run just so you can practice shooting.
I have already spoken with Hylis the possibility to record a replay and it will be used by the bot for practice but it need time to be developed.
Image

User avatar
Bara
Posts: 131
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 11:36
Location: Hildesheim
Contact:

Re: About bots..

Post by Bara » 15 Jul 2012, 14:36

That was actually a thing i wanted to suggest. It's really quite hard to test yours and other maps (speaking of SM-Exchange). That is really frustrating and is definetely a point which should be added.
What about something like this?

Moving targets (maybe a big shield or something like that)
It is possible to create moving targets with an extra block tool (like the offzone one). The targets have to move on a linear line you create with the tool, where it is impossible to create a field view. The target then only moves on that line (like a train which runs from a to b and back all the time) you created and it is possible to shoot it. The advantage for that is, that you don't need an artificial intelligence, which has to "learn" the map. You then have the possibility to configure the speed and size of the target for example.

kalstrams
Posts: 383
Joined: 06 Jul 2012, 22:56

Re: About bots..

Post by kalstrams » 15 Jul 2012, 15:48

Or get 5-10 guys on Skype for testing maps.

volum
Posts: 19
Joined: 19 Aug 2011, 12:17

Re: About bots..

Post by volum » 18 Jul 2012, 10:49

I have already spoken with Hylis the possibility to record a replay and it will be used by the bot for practice but it need time to be developed.
Sounds great :thumbsup: I hope there will be possibility for somekind of "randomize" option too, so the bots dont go so linear way and have slight differences on every play.

Post Reply

Return to “Shootmania”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest