Beta 1.2 and 1.2b

Discuss everything related to Shootmania.

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
mckill3r
Posts: 26
Joined: 07 Jul 2012, 16:51

Re: Beta 1.2

Post by mckill3r » 26 Jul 2012, 02:53

Re, just a question when we have update the dedicated server. How do we switch mods for Elite & Heroes ?

User avatar
eyebo
Translator
Translator
Posts: 3136
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 12:01
Contact:

Re: Beta 1.2

Post by eyebo » 26 Jul 2012, 03:23

mckill3r wrote:Re, just a question when we have update the dedicated server. How do we switch mods for Elite & Heroes ?
Perhaps this part of the wiki will help you:
How launch a dedicated server with a personal title ?
My tracks on: Mania Exchange (TM2) | TrackMania Exchange (TMUF)

For the devs: Ryzen 7 1800X / 32GB RAM / GTX 1080 (477.22) @ 3840x2160 / Win10 64bit

User avatar
mckill3r
Posts: 26
Joined: 07 Jul 2012, 16:51

Re: Beta 1.2

Post by mckill3r » 26 Jul 2012, 06:18

eyebo wrote:
mckill3r wrote:Re, just a question when we have update the dedicated server. How do we switch mods for Elite & Heroes ?
Perhaps this part of the wiki will help you:
How launch a dedicated server with a personal title ?
I dont ask how to launch a title like Elite or Heroes but how to specify a Mod for the title, now in the beta 1.2 you have chose of normal,free,kingof.. maybe the wiki is not up to date or maybe it's to hurly in the morning (5h AM here :p) and i don't read well :p

but thanks to have reply anyway :thumbsup:

User avatar
Slig
Posts: 637
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 11:52
Location: TraXicoLand

Re: Beta 1.2

Post by Slig » 26 Jul 2012, 08:12

If you start an ingame server then in 'script parameters' you will see that it's the 'Mode' #Setting: 'Mode 0: classic, 1: free, 2: king' (defaults 0). But i think that for now on a dedicated, you can only set it by xmlrpc script (SetModeScriptSettings)

User avatar
jeesports.nicer
Posts: 18
Joined: 31 May 2012, 19:55
Location: Ukraine, Kharkiv
Contact:

Re: Beta 1.2

Post by jeesports.nicer » 26 Jul 2012, 08:54

Do you plan to investigate anti-cheat soon, as you said in one of the interviews in latest Alpha version?

User avatar
Hylis
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 3958
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 11:58

Re: Beta 1.2

Post by Hylis » 26 Jul 2012, 09:09

We are working on it since long time. Anti-cheat will be based on various tools. One will be analyze of replay. It will be possible to make it online or offline and could be delayed in time: you keep a replay today and you prove the cheat later thanks to information we store in it. We have to make the dynamic server architecture and it is scheduled for this summer. This is one of the tool, others are being done as well. This is the topic with the most engineer on it at the moment and thanks to dedicated server, netcode choices, nature of the gameplay, thrusted circles tools and anticheat tools with innovative algorithms and the fact that you can keep replays for later analyze if new way to analyze arrive after a cheat is done, I think we will have a good situation. But as I said before, I would rather talk less about this topic and let the engineers work on it.

Akbalder
Posts: 1057
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 11:00
Contact:

Re: Beta 1.2

Post by Akbalder » 26 Jul 2012, 09:10

The steps to update maniaplanet are too complicated. :?

Here is what I did before being able to play the Platform title:
- start Maniaplanet
- download update (a few minutes to wait)
- restart Maniaplanet
- can't find the Platform title :(
- start Storm
- download update (a few minutes to wait)
- can't find the Platform title :(
- start Canyon
- download update (a few minutes to wait)
- can't find the Platform title :(
- restart Maniaplanet
- Platform title is here :lol:

Could we download everything at once? The player could just start the update and do something else while it is being done. Right now, we have to click on something every few minutes.

Also, starting the Canyon title to download another title doesn't seem logical.

User avatar
Hylis
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 3958
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 11:58

Re: Beta 1.2

Post by Hylis » 26 Jul 2012, 09:20

Akbalder wrote:Also, starting the Canyon title to download another title doesn't seem logical.
You are right. It a tweak since when it is Titles made by other players, you have to download it from them. The 'push' function to have the title in your library is called when you update Canyon.

After, the automatic update of everything can be seen as useful, and we will have to think about it, but we are in a special case where we are updating many things at the same time as well on our side. It is like if all your windows application where updating on the same day and we restart of them since the .exe have changed.

I had the same feeling, but I think we have other priorities at the moment (anticheat/optimisation etc.)

It reminds me when you had to download a setup and execute it to update our game. Things are changing ^^

kalstrams
Posts: 383
Joined: 06 Jul 2012, 22:56

Re: Beta 1.2

Post by kalstrams » 26 Jul 2012, 09:21

- Download the update for UI.
- Download the update for title.

Abalder, you forgot 'look in the window' part between restart and download :D

sheaf
Posts: 15
Joined: 11 Jul 2012, 23:57

Re: Beta 1.2

Post by sheaf » 26 Jul 2012, 12:16

Sorry for nagging, but are you planning on doing anything about the railgun not being accurate at long distances, as per http://forum.maniaplanet.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=12277?

Post Reply

Return to “Shootmania”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest