Setting a GIF as avatar?

Discuss everything related to Shootmania.

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15001
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

Post by TMarc » 29 Jul 2014, 21:22

and beware that WebM support is not yet complete. More information will be available when holiday season is over in France.
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

beauchette
Posts: 26
Joined: 19 Sep 2011, 11:21

Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

Post by beauchette » 30 Jul 2014, 00:00

oh ok, I'll try to fiddle with webm, what are the known limitations ?

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15001
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

Post by TMarc » 30 Jul 2014, 00:57

the problem is: we don't know really. I guess someone has to try and report what is working and what not. :oops:
Some already reported of issues.
We have to wait until Nadeo tells us more details.
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

beauchette
Posts: 26
Joined: 19 Sep 2011, 11:21

Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

Post by beauchette » 30 Jul 2014, 10:02

well, I tried a 128x128 webm that was under 30kB (~25) and it worked !

I used ffmpeg that way to convert it :
ffmpeg -i filename.gif -c:v libvpx -crf 10 -b:v 300K filename.webm

For me crf 10 and b:v 300K were fine, depending on the size, and number of frames, I suppose you'd have to adjut these (and the size, if there are too much frames, 64x64 seems to enough), from livpx encoding options :
By default the CRF value can be from 4–63, and 10 is a good starting point. Lower values mean better quality.
Here, you can choose different values for the bitrate other than 1M, e.g. 500K, but you must set all options (i.e., minrate, maxrate and b:v) to the same value.

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15001
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

Post by TMarc » 30 Jul 2014, 22:23

That's a great information, thanks for that. I'll add it to the "How-To"-Thread. :thumbsup:
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

Post Reply

Return to “Shootmania”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest