Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Discuss everything related to Shootmania.

Moderator: English Moderator

knxv1lle
Posts: 63
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 21:59

Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Post by knxv1lle » 17 May 2013, 15:35

.
.
.
>> Update Nr. 182301
.
.
.
---
Hi everybody,

I need help. My rather new laptop won't give me more than ~75fps ingame and I don't know why, since I checked every FPS guide out there for ShootMania and tried all different kind of NVidia settings.

Maybe someone knows what to do or what the problem could be (hopefully not "your hardware sux").

Thank you!

Everest Report

Some Screenshots from Ingame (notice Input Lag?!?)

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Cheers,

knxv1lle
Last edited by knxv1lle on 20 Jun 2013, 22:28, edited 8 times in total.

User avatar
Omnixor
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2959
Joined: 03 Jul 2010, 17:07
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Post by Omnixor » 17 May 2013, 15:39

it may be because of windows 8, or because of graphics settings in the game. screenshots from launcher -> configure -> advanced please? first tab, compatibility button on it, and last tab.
- staff head of ESL TM²Stadium -

bosnak
Posts: 42
Joined: 22 Jun 2012, 19:03

Re: Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Post by bosnak » 17 May 2013, 16:39

What laptop / how old?

If you have a newer laptop this seems to be a problem for a lot of people. They have 600 series graphics cards with a top i7 mobile processor and they can not get over 80 FPS. As it could be your shootmania settings, I would like to think its more of your laptop/software driver settings. If my 4 year old Dell 2.5GhZ dual core + AMD 4870? can run SM @ 90-100FPS then these new laptops should be way over that easily.

I would always recommend formatting a new laptop and clean off all that crap. Load on strictly the drivers you will need for your hardware, check your power options, proper drivers (which look fine) and lastly BIOS settings if you have access. Besides that I haven't cared to look into it.

knxv1lle
Posts: 63
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 21:59

Re: Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Post by knxv1lle » 17 May 2013, 16:44

Thanks, I'll look into formatting.

The laptop is a Lenovo Z500 Ideapad (bought 2-3 months ago)

bosnak
Posts: 42
Joined: 22 Jun 2012, 19:03

Re: Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Post by bosnak » 17 May 2013, 17:28

knxv1lle wrote:Thanks, I'll look into formatting.

The laptop is a Lenovo Z500 Ideapad (bought 2-3 months ago)

I suggest you research your laptop and see what others are saying(Google). There might be something someone has found to bypass or fix that issue.

knxv1lle
Posts: 63
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 21:59

Re: Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Post by knxv1lle » 22 May 2013, 11:53

Sorry for push, but can someone say if the hardware is good enough to get more than 100fps? I mean it "SHOULD" be very good for at least >100 FPS, but for me it's impossible, even when I play in 1280x720.

Thanks!

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15338
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Post by TMarc » 22 May 2013, 21:55

Remove the refresh rate and the max fps value in the compatibility tab in the advanced video configuration of ManiaPlanet.

In the nVidia panel chose individual settings for ShootMania (ManiaPlanet, eventually Canyon is available only):
"Energieverwaltungsmodus" :arrow: "Maximale Leistung bevorzugen"
"Multi-Display/gemischte GPU-Beschleunigung" :arrow: "Einzel-Display-Leistungs-Modus"

And in the "global settings":
"Threaded-Optimierung" :arrow: "Auto".

How did you check the fps? With the corresponding display in game?
Or with a replay you are using as benchmark?
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
Discord: TMarc#3002

knxv1lle
Posts: 63
Joined: 22 Feb 2013, 21:59

Re: Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Post by knxv1lle » 23 May 2013, 16:19

Thank you TMarc, I'll try that settings right away.

And yes, I checked them ingame with "?" (see screenshots).

User avatar
TGYoshi
Posts: 811
Joined: 15 Mar 2011, 16:59

Re: Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Post by TGYoshi » 24 May 2013, 10:26

Remove the preset thing in the Display tab of the launcher, set texture quality to lowest.
=3

viperozza
Posts: 108
Joined: 09 Nov 2012, 10:42

Re: Optimize settings for max fps [Help]

Post by viperozza » 24 May 2013, 11:17

TGYoshi wrote:Remove the preset thing in the Display tab of the launcher, set texture quality to lowest.
I testesd this! NO changes fps-wise for me

Post Reply

Return to “Shootmania”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest