Studying game design

Discuss everything and more.

Moderator: English Moderator

Soprah

Studying game design

Post by Soprah »

Hello,

In a few months, I got my official degree as a craftsman in "injection moulding" (plastic industry). But I am not sure if I want to continue this path. I could take the job of my father in a few years and make very good money but games have always interested me (mechanics, discussing with people like here on this forum etc). Perhaps I can even say it's a big place of my heart. Whenever I got a spare minute in my everyday life, I am thinking of ideas for my own game. From the story to the world itself. My brother keeps telling me "You will spend 3/4 of your day on work, chose it well".

I am considering to study "Game design" in Germany. Because If I truly want to create games, then it's better to spend your whole time on it. It's a more or less new study path and it looks promising. But before I decide myself for this way of life, I'd like to ask you about your experiences in this environment. From a "professional" worker within this industry, or just a hobby-artist.
One question might be (if you have no idea what to say): What do you think of becoming a "game designer" in these days? Or is there a realistic chance to create a "simple" game in 2-3 years with 3-4 people? If I find some guys :lol: (btw: How did Hylis find his first crew mates for the nadeo studio? )

I am very interested in your opinion! Can't wait :yes:
Miss

Re: Studying game design

Post by Miss »

(Disclaimer; I am a game programmer in a small successful indie studio of ~10 people with already a couple games released.)

The biggest thing that you never really think that much about and probably aren't too worried about at all when you don't have much professional experience yet; Funding.

This is your biggest enemy. You mention wanting to have a team of 3 to 4 people to make a game with you, which is great, but there's a couple problems: