Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Moderator: NADEO

User avatar
wlhlm
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Oct 2017, 17:33

Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Post by wlhlm » 08 Oct 2017, 19:05

I'm having trouble setting up a dedicated ManiaPlanet Server in my LAN without making it available online. I'm trying to follow Nadeo's official "Less quick start documentation", but I'm unable to get it to work. It seems the documentation hasn't been updated for the MP4 transition. I'll be documenting my setup process from scratch to show if I maybe am doing something wrong here. An error log can be found at the end of this post.

I'm setting this up on a Windows 10 Desktop.
  1. Download latest dedicated server release (at the time of writing version is listed as "Svn=76731 GameVersion=3.3.0"). http://files.v04.maniaplanet.com/server ... Latest.zip
  2. Extract dedicated server files (in my case "D:\Documents\ManiaPlanet Dedicated Server").
  3. Copy UserData\Config\dedicated_cfg.default.txt to UserData\Config\dedicated_cfg.txt.
  4. Edit options /dedicated/server_options/name, and /dedicated/system_config/title in the previously copied file.

    I leave masterserver_acount empty--I just want to run a LAN server and thus don't create a dedicated server login. This should be doable according to the official documentation:
    A dedicated server login is required for internet servers. You can start LAN servers [using the /lan commandline argument] without login.
  5. Use the config helper webapp. Select "Trackmania² Stadium".
  6. Copy code in section "Default MatchSettings for: Time Attack" to UserData\Maps\MatchSettings\TestServer.txt.
  7. Download TM² Stadium title pack. A thing that has changed with MP4 and is missing from the official documentation. Solution found in this thread.
  8. Copy title pack to UserData\Packs.
  9. Open commandline in dedicated server base directory.
  10. Run the server executable with ManiaPlanetServer /Title=TMStadium@nadeo /dedicated_cfg=dedicated_cfg.txt /game_settings=MatchSettings/TestServer.txt /lan.
  11. Server aborts with the following log messages:

    Code: Select all

    [2017/10/08 19:10:04] Starting ManiaPlanet date=2017-08-30_18_16 Svn=76731 GameVersion=3.3.0...
    [2017/10/08 19:10:04] Configuration file : dedicated_cfg.txt
    [2017/10/08 19:10:04] Loading system configuration...
    [2017/10/08 19:10:04] ...system configuration loaded
    [2017/10/08 19:10:04] Loading cache...
    [2017/10/08 19:10:05] ...OK
    [2017/10/08 19:10:05] Loading dedicated server configuration...
    [2017/10/08 19:10:05] ...Dedicated server configuration loaded
    [2017/10/08 19:10:05] ...ERROR: Not connected
    
    [2017/10/08 19:10:05] ...ERROR: Load failed. Could not get access to 'Trackmania² Stadium'.
    [2017/10/08 19:10:05] Could not install or update the title's files...
It seems like the server tries to connect to somewhere to update or install the title pack, which is weird, since I've already downloaded it earlier. Unfortunately, the error messages doesn't say a whole lot (at least to me).

I was able to find one other thread with the same error message, but it included no solution to my specific problem.

cohe69
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Oct 2017, 12:04

Re: Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Post by cohe69 » 10 Oct 2017, 12:08

Hello,

I have the same error. There seems to be no solution to run an offline server.

At server startup, it connects to the master, probably to check if I bought the title (Stadium in my case).
If I add "/lan", connection is blocked and server fails to start.

Does someone know if it's a change of policy ? No offline server allowed ?

Thanks

User avatar
Cerovan
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 2032
Joined: 11 Jul 2011, 11:27
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Post by Cerovan » 10 Oct 2017, 14:45

In the matchmaking, have you put "<is_internet>1</is_internet>" to 0?
Online Programmer & Meme Master ヾ(⌐■_■)ノ

Access to your Player Page

You have troubles, please contact the Ubisoft Support

Maniaplanet Documentation (Editors, Scripting, Title Pack, etc...)

User avatar
wlhlm
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Oct 2017, 17:33

Re: Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Post by wlhlm » 10 Oct 2017, 14:56

Cerovan wrote:
10 Oct 2017, 14:45
In the matchmaking, have you put "<is_internet>1</is_internet>" to 0?
Using the config helper, both is_lan and is_internet are set to 1. Though, I get the same error message no matter if is_internet is 0 or 1 (while is_lan is set to 1).

User avatar
fng_thatoneguy
Posts: 673
Joined: 05 Jan 2011, 18:06
Location: That One Place
Contact:

Re: Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Post by fng_thatoneguy » 10 Oct 2017, 14:59

Cerovan wrote:
10 Oct 2017, 14:45
In the matchmaking, have you put "<is_internet>1</is_internet>" to 0?
@Cerovan: I can replicate this using my Windows version of the dedicated server also.
I get the same log file as wlhlm using the 2017-08-30 version. My config has a masterserver_account configured and works fine without the "/lan" command-line switch used. As soon as I add the "'/lan" it does not... however... I do have this filter in the MatchSettings file:

Code: Select all

<filter>
	<is_lan>1</is_lan>
	<is_internet>0</is_internet>
	<is_solo>0</is_solo>
	<is_hotseat>0</is_hotseat>
	<sort_index>1000</sort_index>
	<random_map_order>1</random_map_order>
	<force_default_gamemode>0</force_default_gamemode>
</filter>
Notice:

Code: Select all

<is_lan>1</is_lan>
<is_internet>0</is_internet>
If I run this without the "/lan" command-line switch it works fine, but I'm not sure if it still lists in the game browser for others to see on the internet or not. I would need someone to help me test that. I use mine to develop my TournaMania app locally.

@wlhlm and @cohe69: Can you try configuring the <filter> in your MatchSettings file to have "is_lan" as 1 and "is_internet" as 0 and leave the "/lan" off the command-line and see if it works for you?
Image

User avatar
fng_thatoneguy
Posts: 673
Joined: 05 Jan 2011, 18:06
Location: That One Place
Contact:

Re: Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Post by fng_thatoneguy » 10 Oct 2017, 15:04

I might need to correct myself:

"Works fine" means it still connects to the master server as it starts, and it says "Autostart server on internet" even though I have the filter "is_internet" setting configured to "0". I would imagine it's visible to other players on the internet at that point.

So maybe I'm no help... :shock:
@Cerovan: any ideas?
Image

cohe69
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Oct 2017, 12:04

Re: Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Post by cohe69 » 10 Oct 2017, 16:04

When I add "/lan", the server don't perform the connection to the master and the startup fails. Even with "is_internet=0".

is_lan = 1
is_internet = 0
without "/lan"

Code: Select all

Starting ManiaPlanet Date=2017-08-30_14_00 Svn=76730 GameVersion=3.3.0...
Configuration file : dedicated_cfg.txt
Loading system configuration...
...system configuration loaded
Loading cache...
...OK
Loading dedicated server configuration...
...Dedicated server configuration loaded
Connecting to master server...
...OK
Identifying on master server...
...OK
Listening for xml-rpc commands on port 5000.
Match settings file : MatchSettings\TMStadium.txt
Loading match settings...
...Match settings loaded
Autostart server on internet
URL: maniaplanet://#join=lanup@TMStadium@nadeo
Starting server...

Loading map A01.Map.Gbx (Ye6btWgKsS2M4vCqGsL8COTOUoh)...
...Load succeeds
Starting Match...
...Synchronization
...Play
is_lan = 1
is_internet = 0
with "/lan"

Code: Select all

Starting ManiaPlanet Date=2017-08-30_14_00 Svn=76730 GameVersion=3.3.0...
Configuration file : dedicated_cfg.txt
Loading system configuration...
...system configuration loaded
Loading cache...
...OK
Loading dedicated server configuration...
...Dedicated server configuration loaded
...ERROR: Not connected

...ERROR: Load failed. Could not get access to 'Trackmania² Stadium'.
Could not install or update the title's files...
Exiting...

User avatar
wlhlm
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Oct 2017, 17:33

Re: Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Post by wlhlm » 10 Oct 2017, 16:09

fng_thatoneguy wrote:
10 Oct 2017, 14:59
@wlhlm and @cohe69: Can you try configuring the <filter> in your MatchSettings file to have "is_lan" as 1 and "is_internet" as 0 and leave the "/lan" off the command-line and see if it works for you?
I still get get the same error when dropping the /lan argument.

I would assume you have a server login configured in your dedicated_cfg (masterserver_account)? I have that empty, since the documentation says that it isn't required for lan servers.

I'm purely guessing, since the error messages don't tell a whole lot. I think it tries to update the title pack, but can't authenticated with the master server, since I've given it no credentials and thus fails. Not sure why it wants to update since I just freely downloaded the latest title pack from maniaplanet (link).

Here is from the other thread I linked in the OP:
rameth wrote:
14 May 2016, 02:07
Yes i thought so too, and have /lan on command line but no go :(

interestingly it works for the individual titles ie "TmCanyon" but not for "trackmania_2@nadeolabs" where it insists on needing a connection ?
edit
found the following snippet on the web which i guess means its no go, how bloody stupid, never mind, still have trackmania1, will go back to that

If you have absolutely no access to Internet
So in that case, you only need to add the parameter /lan to your command line at the launch of the dedicated server. Yet with this solution you'll be able to launch only the basis titles (TrackMania Canyon, ShootMania Storm).


Rather regret i bought all 3 titles , foolish of me in retrospect, dont play online only local with the nephew
Judging from this, only TM2 Canyon and SM Storm work on purely a LAN server. Unfortunately, I can't verify this claim, since I own neither of those titles. Also note that the post was made before the MP4 transition.
Last edited by wlhlm on 10 Oct 2017, 16:22, edited 1 time in total.

cohe69
Posts: 3
Joined: 10 Oct 2017, 12:04

Re: Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Post by cohe69 » 10 Oct 2017, 16:13

wlhlm wrote:
10 Oct 2017, 16:09
I would assume you have a server login configured in your dedicated_cfg (masterserver_account)? I have that empty, since the documentation says this it isn't required for lan servers.
You're right, I have a Stadium login/password/key set in my dedicated_cfg.txt

User avatar
wlhlm
Posts: 8
Joined: 08 Oct 2017, 17:33

Re: Unable to setup LAN server for Trackmania² Stadium (ERROR: Not connected)

Post by wlhlm » 10 Oct 2017, 16:21

cohe69 wrote:
10 Oct 2017, 16:04
is_lan = 1
is_internet = 0
without "/lan"

Code: Select all

Starting ManiaPlanet Date=2017-08-30_14_00 Svn=76730 GameVersion=3.3.0...
Configuration file : dedicated_cfg.txt
Loading system configuration...
...system configuration loaded
Loading cache...
...OK
Loading dedicated server configuration...
...Dedicated server configuration loaded
Connecting to master server...
...OK
Identifying on master server...
...OK
Listening for xml-rpc commands on port 5000.
Match settings file : MatchSettings\TMStadium.txt
Loading match settings...
...Match settings loaded
Autostart server on internet
URL: maniaplanet://#join=lanup@TMStadium@nadeo
Starting server...

Loading map A01.Map.Gbx (Ye6btWgKsS2M4vCqGsL8COTOUoh)...
...Load succeeds
Starting Match...
...Synchronization
...Play
Looking at @cohe69's log above, the server only loads the game_settings file after contacting the master server, which fails for me, so I can put whatever I want into my game_settings file and get the same error regardless.

Post Reply

Return to “Dedicated Server”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest