Blue screen in editor

Talk here if you need help about Maniaplanet or its games

Moderator: English Moderator

Post Reply
lumatom
Posts: 2
Joined: 21 Sep 2015, 15:35

Blue screen in editor

Post by lumatom » 13 Feb 2017, 17:43

Hi,

So I was mapping in editor until I got a blue screen. Afterwards, I can not load again and it the map is not visible in "loading map" menu. I checked in my maps folder and I can still see it there.

If you want, you can download the map here and test it on your pc
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_RRl ... TNKM2pHV3M

I hope you can help me. Thanks in advance.

Lumatom

User avatar
Electron
Posts: 681
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 18:02
Contact:

Re: Blue screen in editor

Post by Electron » 13 Feb 2017, 20:19

Unfortunately, the file contains only zeros.

If you have already built on the map for some time, you may have a backup copy of it available:
3 ways to recover an older version of an existing file

Do you have a Replay file from the map? Look in the folders "Documents\ManiaPlanet\Replays\Replays" and "Documents\ManiaPlanet\Replays\AutoSaves". Then there is possibly a way to extract the map from the replay.
Image
TM²: TrackMania Telemetry Monitor version 1.1

User avatar
nighthawk4571
Posts: 329
Joined: 20 Aug 2011, 06:39
Location: QLD, Australia
Contact:

Re: Blue screen in editor

Post by nighthawk4571 » 13 Feb 2017, 20:39

Fail. I cannot open the file in any Title (Stadium, Canyon, Valley or Storm). Your system crash interrupted a save and so the map file is corrupt.

You can try Electron's suggestion and see if there are any other copies of the map/ replay, or......

Just a bit of bad luck mate. :? After checking the health of your system, all you can do is try starting again.
Nighthawk
I use this profile here, NOT ZXNighthawk !
Image
Image
Admin: http://bagracing.freeforums.org/portal.php
U-tUbe: https://www.youtube.com/user/bvnighthawk

lumatom
Posts: 2
Joined: 21 Sep 2015, 15:35

Re: Blue screen in editor

Post by lumatom » 14 Feb 2017, 16:37

There are no autosaves, because the map hadn't been validated yet. Luckily I kinda remember how I built it so I guess I'll start rebuilding.

Also, I did read somewhere that a lot of terraforming might be the cause of this. Not sure if it still is though.

User avatar
Miss
Posts: 619
Joined: 05 Jan 2016, 11:34
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Blue screen in editor

Post by Miss » 15 Feb 2017, 11:02

You mean the cause of bluescreens? A file with only 0's just means that the system crashed while Maniaplanet was trying to save the file.

If you're talking about bluescreens, I used to have a lot of bluescreens when editing maps a long time ago, but that kinda stopped later. Something related to Nvidia drivers and shadow calculations :(
:thx: Nimz eSports, and Openplanet, an alternative scripting platform.
GPU: GTX 1070, CPU: i7 4790k, RAM: 16GB, OS: Windows 10 Insider

Post Reply

Return to “Support & Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests