Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Talk here if you need help about Maniaplanet or its games

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
HubbleSM
Posts: 166
Joined: 18 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: Germany
Contact:

Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Post by HubbleSM » 16 May 2016, 17:11

Since a few days my Internet is slowing down extremely while running Maniaplanet. Especially when joining a server I got high pings ingame (200-5000 :shock: ). Sometimes the lag goes away after a few minutes, sometimes I get kicked from the Server.
That means Shootmania is unplayable, while playing Trackmania online gives me a lot of lags (the car is driving faster/slower sometimes, you probably know that bug ;) )

But what worries me the most is that not just Maniaplanet is lagging, but also everything else has a slow inernet connection. I made some speedtests to compare my connection:

Internet speed without Maniaplanet:
Image

Internet speed with Maniaplanet:
Image

You can clearly see the difference in upload speed and ping.
Actually I'm not sure if it has something to do that Maniaplanet is running on a new pc that i got since 2 weeks.

Someone else has/had similar problem and knows a solution for that?
Thanks for every help :thx:
Image

Admin: ManiaCalendar
Member: http://www.smurfen.net/

OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
RAM: 16GB DDR3
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15062
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Post by TMarc » 16 May 2016, 17:15

Ah, you got a new PC? congrats ;)

Did you already try to reduce the allowed bandwith for Maniaplanet? This can be done in the advanced configuration.
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

User avatar
HubbleSM
Posts: 166
Joined: 18 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Post by HubbleSM » 16 May 2016, 17:21

wow, thanks for that fast answer :thumbsup:
It was already set on 8mb which should fit to my connection. Setting it down to 2mb made no difference
Image

Admin: ManiaCalendar
Member: http://www.smurfen.net/

OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
RAM: 16GB DDR3
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15062
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Post by TMarc » 16 May 2016, 18:08

You're welcome, but I saw your message that early only by chance ;)

ah, ok, bandwith does not help. And what about P2P settings?
We all know since the begin of Shootmania that other player's ping affects the game a lot.

And did you play on exactly the same servers as before your PC change?

Perhaps some other network related settings, e.g. some additional but not useful services, or perhaps MTU size? Especially interesting if you are using DSL (set to 1492 then).

How to find out current MTU size easily: start cmd shell, and run this command: netsh interface ipv4 show interfaces
Same for IPv6: netsh interface ipv6 show interfaces
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

User avatar
xrayjay
Posts: 1468
Joined: 29 Aug 2010, 14:19

Re: Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Post by xrayjay » 16 May 2016, 21:06

Which router do you got of UM?
If you use the TC7200, may i got a workaround ;)

User avatar
Rots
Translator
Translator
Posts: 1164
Joined: 01 Sep 2010, 14:39
Location: España, Barcelona

Re: Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Post by Rots » 16 May 2016, 21:11

I had some issues recently with my router (vodafone huawei fiber) and I managed to fix some using TCP optimizer... http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php

Don't know much about networking but you could give it a try, its a free portable software that enhances/optimizes (or at least tries to) your connection (windows sided, nothing to do with router firmware settings). Set all settings to optimal.
Image
Image
Image
TrackMania Original brought me here... Here I am since 2006

User avatar
HubbleSM
Posts: 166
Joined: 18 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Post by HubbleSM » 17 May 2016, 22:29

Thanks for the tipps :)

I just tested my connection with another game (rocket league) and got the same issue. So i guess it's a computer/router problem and not related to Maniaplanet.

While playing, sometimes the connection works fine for some minutes without any hight ping etc.
Watching Streams/Videos works perfectly fine without any connection problems.
xrayjay wrote:Which router do you got of UM?
If you use the TC7200, may i got a workaround ;)
I got a wifi connection to a "Connect Box" from unitymedia (which is the follower of that TC7200 I think)
TMarc wrote: Perhaps some other network related settings, e.g. some additional but not useful services, or perhaps MTU size? Especially interesting if you are using DSL (set to 1492 then).
I made some research on that. After some test it seems that I need to set it to 1472 (both ipv4 and ipv6) to not lose some packages (tested it with some pings to google). It was set to 1500 before. Changing it didn't made a difference tho.
Rots wrote:I had some issues recently with my router (vodafone huawei fiber) and I managed to fix some using TCP optimizer... http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php

Don't know much about networking but you could give it a try, its a free portable software that enhances/optimizes (or at least tries to) your connection (windows sided, nothing to do with router firmware settings). Set all settings to optimal.
I also tried that, but no success .

Edit: Maybe this topic is not in the right forum anymore, feel free to move it if thats the case
Image

Admin: ManiaCalendar
Member: http://www.smurfen.net/

OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
RAM: 16GB DDR3
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M

User avatar
xrayjay
Posts: 1468
Joined: 29 Aug 2010, 14:19

Re: Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Post by xrayjay » 18 May 2016, 00:09

ok may this will help a little > http://www.unitymediaforum.de/viewtopic ... 53&t=33445
Seems that there´s maybe an routing problem under some circumstances with some special configurations (another subnet than the stock one f.e.), may try to make a factory reset of your device and try it again (after the factory reset, cut the power connection for ~2min of the router/device and restart your computer).
The link above describes some issues with the tc7200 but maybe your connectbox got some similar things, just try it.

Maybe the reason is an firmware update for this new "feature" > http://www.unitymediaforum.de/viewtopic ... 53&t=33358 :?

User avatar
HubbleSM
Posts: 166
Joined: 18 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Post by HubbleSM » 22 May 2016, 14:47

I just connected with 2 different pc's to the same maniaplanet server and had the same lag - so it's definitely a router issue. I'm gonna do a factory reset the next days when i get the opportunity to do it.
Image

Admin: ManiaCalendar
Member: http://www.smurfen.net/

OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
RAM: 16GB DDR3
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M

User avatar
HubbleSM
Posts: 166
Joined: 18 Mar 2013, 19:38
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Maniaplanet kills my Internet

Post by HubbleSM » 26 May 2016, 21:39

I did the factory reset today and it worked. Lets hope it will stay the same for the next days.
Thanks for the help :thx:
Image

Admin: ManiaCalendar
Member: http://www.smurfen.net/

OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
RAM: 16GB DDR3
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M

Post Reply

Return to “Support & Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests