Can't drift left

Talk here if you need help about Maniaplanet or its games

Moderator: English Moderator

Post Reply
ziberty
Posts: 25
Joined: 19 Feb 2016, 12:20
Location: France

Can't drift left

Post by ziberty » 26 Sep 2016, 21:26

Hello everyone,
Some days ago, I bought a gamer PC, with a new keybord.
I installed trackmania, and played some maps. Then I realized that I couldn't drift left.
I play with arrows, and can do right drifts.
So I can do: UP+DOWN+RIGHT but can't do UP+DOWN+LEFT.
It's really annoying because I can't do maps with left turns.
My keybord is a spirit of gamers PRO-K2
And in my previous laptop I could drift left.
Hope you can help me,
ziberty :thumbsup:

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15110
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Can't drift left

Post by TMarc » 26 Sep 2016, 22:15

Some keyboards don't support multiple keys pressed at the same time in the same "key zone".
You should try using e.g. blank as additional brake key, so you can use the left thumb to start a drift. :pil
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

ziberty
Posts: 25
Joined: 19 Feb 2016, 12:20
Location: France

Re: Can't drift left

Post by ziberty » 26 Sep 2016, 22:57

Thanks for your answer.
I'll be sure to try that tomorrow, because I can't use my computer right now. ;)
I hope I'll drift again :mrgreen:

User avatar
Rots
Translator
Translator
Posts: 1164
Joined: 01 Sep 2010, 14:39
Location: España, Barcelona

Re: Can't drift left

Post by Rots » 27 Sep 2016, 12:17

fyi called "key ghosting"

Next time, buy a keyboard featuring "anti ghosting"

https://www.microsoft.com/appliedscienc ... splay.aspx
Image
Image
Image
TrackMania Original brought me here... Here I am since 2006

ziberty
Posts: 25
Joined: 19 Feb 2016, 12:20
Location: France

Re: Can't drift left

Post by ziberty » 27 Sep 2016, 17:24

Hello,
TMarc wrote:Some keyboards don't support multiple keys pressed at the same time in the same "key zone".
You should try using e.g. blank as additional brake key, so you can use the left thumb to start a drift. :pil
Sadly, it's not working. I can drift for example if I press UP+DOWN+LEFTCTRL but I'm not use to do this.
Rots wrote:fyi called "key ghosting"

Next time, buy a keyboard featuring "anti ghosting"

https://www.microsoft.com/appliedscienc ... splay.aspx
Is it possible to fix it without re buying a new one ? Otherwise I'm really satisfacted with this keyboard and don't want to buy a new one.
Have a great day,
ziberty :pil

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15110
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Can't drift left

Post by TMarc » 27 Sep 2016, 18:50

Well, you will have to get used to a new key assignment (you can also try to find other assignments which do work better for you), if you don't want to buy a new keyboard.

Again, it is an issue of the keyboard hardware "by design", it does not support it, and it is not an issue of the game (this time ;) ).
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

ziberty
Posts: 25
Joined: 19 Feb 2016, 12:20
Location: France

Re: Can't drift left

Post by ziberty » 27 Sep 2016, 18:56

Hello,
Thanks for your answer, I'll now play with leftctrl it's not really hard :yes:
Have a nice day :pil

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15110
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Can't drift left

Post by TMarc » 27 Sep 2016, 19:00

Great :thumbsup:
I'm pretty sure you will soon like it much more.
Because if you were used like me before to steer the car only with the cursors, after some time of playing, I always had pain in the thumb and also sometimes in the hand, close to cramps.
Since I'm using blank for braking and drifts, my right hand is more relaxed :lol:
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

Post Reply

Return to “Support & Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests