[Temp Solution] Nvidia SLI

Talk here if you need help about Maniaplanet or its games

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
Shadowdane
Posts: 25
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 01:04
Location: Virginia

[Temp Solution] Nvidia SLI

Post by Shadowdane » 31 Aug 2011, 16:11

The EVGA Patch I originally posted just doesn't work very well, so I removed the main post... click here to see my updated fix! :3
Last edited by Shadowdane on 27 Sep 2011, 00:53, edited 3 times in total.
Sys Specs: i7-860 @ 4Ghz / 16GB DDR3-1600 / Nvidia GTX680 SLI

* My TM2 Tracks!

User avatar
kalimerre
Posts: 1173
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 11:05
Location: Paris

Re: EVGA releases Nvidia SLI patch for TM2: Canyon

Post by kalimerre » 31 Aug 2011, 16:23

Nice news thanks for informations!
I moved in Support forum and i stick it.

Cznielsen
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Sep 2011, 11:02

Re: EVGA releases Nvidia SLI patch for TM2: Canyon

Post by Cznielsen » 02 Sep 2011, 15:45

So....

How do you use it?


I tried installing it but nothing happens.

User avatar
CrazyCoder
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Sep 2011, 12:27

Re: EVGA releases Nvidia SLI patch for TM2: Canyon

Post by CrazyCoder » 14 Sep 2011, 12:32

This SLI profile indeed enables the second GPU, however it's completely pointless since the load on each GPU is 50% and overall FPS doesn't improve (I even lost 1fps on my config with SLI profile). Disabling this profile fully loads single GPU.

So, we still need a proper SLI support, otherwise I get only 40fps when running all on maximum settings with 2560x1600 resolution.
i7-980x @ 4.3Ghz / 12GB DDR3-1600 / Nvidia GTX480 SLI

User avatar
metoxys
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2021
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 20:45
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: EVGA releases Nvidia SLI patch for TM2: Canyon

Post by metoxys » 14 Sep 2011, 12:43

CrazyCoder wrote:So, we still need a proper SLI support, otherwise I get only 40fps when running all on maximum settings with 2560x1600 resolution.
40 fps is good, man!

User avatar
CrazyCoder
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Sep 2011, 12:27

Re: EVGA releases Nvidia SLI patch for TM2: Canyon

Post by CrazyCoder » 14 Sep 2011, 12:47

metoxys wrote:40 fps is good, man!
It's not bad, however with vsync enabled average FPS drops to 30. I'd prefer 60 fps with vsync enabled, which should be possible with SLI.
i7-980x @ 4.3Ghz / 12GB DDR3-1600 / Nvidia GTX480 SLI

User avatar
metoxys
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2021
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 20:45
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: EVGA releases Nvidia SLI patch for TM2: Canyon

Post by metoxys » 14 Sep 2011, 12:57

CrazyCoder wrote:
metoxys wrote:40 fps is good, man!
It's not bad, however with vsync enabled average FPS drops to 30. I'd prefer 60 fps with vsync enabled, which should be possible with SLI.
Disable vsync, man!

User avatar
CrazyCoder
Posts: 4
Joined: 14 Sep 2011, 12:27

Re: EVGA releases Nvidia SLI patch for TM2: Canyon

Post by CrazyCoder » 14 Sep 2011, 13:09

I have it disabled at the moment and get 40fps, however I'd prefer it enabled to avoid tearing.
i7-980x @ 4.3Ghz / 12GB DDR3-1600 / Nvidia GTX480 SLI

User avatar
Shadowdane
Posts: 25
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 01:04
Location: Virginia

Re: EVGA releases Nvidia SLI patch for TM2: Canyon

Post by Shadowdane » 16 Sep 2011, 15:24

Yah this SLI Patch doesn't work anymore, it worked on beta and ran great. But now with the final release it runs like crap again. Lots of stuttering and huge dips in framerate.

See my post here.
Sys Specs: i7-860 @ 4Ghz / 16GB DDR3-1600 / Nvidia GTX680 SLI

* My TM2 Tracks!

User avatar
Shadowdane
Posts: 25
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 01:04
Location: Virginia

Re: [Solution] Nvidia SLI

Post by Shadowdane » 17 Sep 2011, 21:33

I found a fix!!! I was messing with the SLI profile settings for TM2: Canyon all morning and found settings which make it run great!! Nvidia should use these profile settings officially it runs flawlessly! :D
The profile setting which I've listed below gets rid of all the stuttering & framerate drops which happened with No Profile or the EVGA profile. I included a benchmark showing performance for Single GPU, SLI (No Profile) & SLI (Custom Profile).

You'll first want to load the latest Nvidia Driver, I'm using the 285.27 Beta.
285.27 Beta - WinVista/7 32-Bit
285.27 Beta - WinVista/7 64-Bit
285.27 Beta - WinXP 32-Bit
285.27 Beta - WinXP 64-Bit

This profile changes requires editing the SLI Profile settings with Nvidia Inspector.

If you haven't used Nvidia Inspector before, here is a quick run-down.
1. Open Nvidia Inspector
2. Click the Wrench Icon (See Pic 1) - This opens the Game Profile Editor
3. Create a new profile for Trackmania 2 (See Pic 2) - Click the Yellow Star Button on the Toolbar
4. Add maniaplanet.exe & maniaplanetlauncher.exe to the Profile (See Pic 2) - Click the App+ Button on the Toolbar
5. Now you'll modify the profile to match the settings listed below (See Pic 2)

Nvidia Inspector Profile Settings
SLI Compatiblity Bits: 0x00500045 (You'll need to copy/paste this - It won't be in the drop down list)
# of GPUs to use on SLI Rendering: SLI_GPU_COUNT_FOUR
Nvidia Predefined SLI Mode: SLI_PREDEFINED_MODE_FORCE_AFR2

Nvidia Inspector Pics
Pic 1: http://shadowdane.com/public/trackmania2/ni_1.png
Pic 2: http://shadowdane.com/public/trackmania2/ni_2.png

Benchmark Graph
http://shadowdane.com/public/trackmania ... chmark.png

Sorry about the lengthy solution here... but this will have to do until Nvidia officially fixes this.
Sys Specs: i7-860 @ 4Ghz / 16GB DDR3-1600 / Nvidia GTX680 SLI

* My TM2 Tracks!

Post Reply

Return to “Support & Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests