[TM2] Problem with install

Talk here if you need help about Maniaplanet or its games

Moderator: English Moderator

mvv0105
Posts: 236
Joined: 11 Jul 2013, 11:07
Location: Russia, Novosibirsk

Re: [TM2] Problem with install

Post by mvv0105 » 11 Mar 2015, 11:14

http://cs621220.vk.me/v621220770/16be4/iXi4HmrCf48.jpg

Game stucking in this file - download it again and again. Game from maniaplanet.com (Stadium).

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 13917
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: [TM2] Problem with install

Post by TMarc » 11 Mar 2015, 21:54

disable your antivirus for the time of update.
run ManiaPlanet as administrator.

does it help?
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia GTX 970, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD

rachovolker
Posts: 94
Joined: 07 Apr 2011, 22:45
Contact:

Re: [TM2] Problem with install

Post by rachovolker » 13 Feb 2017, 19:32

Trying to install TM2 on a new Win10 PC.

Downloaded TMStadium from the playerpage -> ran the install, everything went fine.
Started Maniaplanet -> MP tried to update the maniaplanet.exe and some smaller files
-> After ~21 MB the download for the .exe restarted.

Went to my old PC, copied the MP-Folders (Data, Documents, ProgramData)
Started Maniaplanet -> MP informed me of an update for the Titles.zip file (Version from 08.07.2014 14:47; 31,750KB)
-> Download kept running until 2.7GB (Gigabyte), then restarted

Tried deleting the Titles.zip file and/or the whole ProgramData Maniaplanet folder, but got the same result.

Restarted PC, turned of Antivir/Firewall and started MP as Administrator still same result.

I'm runing out of ideas... Help very much appreciated.

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 13917
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: [TM2] Problem with install

Post by TMarc » 13 Feb 2017, 22:05

Where did you purchase and install it initially from? If it was Steam, you cannot copy all data.

Install it fresh without copying any older data, and first see if you can start it properly.
Only then copy your files (skins, mods, maps), but not the titles.
Instead, let Maniaplanet download and install them.
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia GTX 970, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD

rachovolker
Posts: 94
Joined: 07 Apr 2011, 22:45
Contact:

Re: [TM2] Problem with install

Post by rachovolker » 14 Feb 2017, 00:28

Thanks for the hint! I got it to work!
-> Clean install -> Start MP -> Fail to update mp.exe -> close MP -> copy mp.exe -> relaunche MP -> Mini-update that works -> close MP -> copy documents and packs -> :yes:

Even with the non-steam version MP seems to have a problem when you copy all your files before you start the game at least once with the newest mp.exe.

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 13917
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: [TM2] Problem with install

Post by TMarc » 14 Feb 2017, 10:18

Great :clap:
yes, Maniaplanet keeps track of the updates in a file, and if you copy files this won't match anymore and most likely cause issues like you have encountered.
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia GTX 970, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD

Post Reply

Return to “Support & Bug Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests