TMU/NF Mods NOT Compatible with Stadium "2"

Talk about the car skins/models, mods and share them !

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
Skeleton
Posts: 595
Joined: 23 Jun 2010, 19:42

Re: TMU/NF Mods Compatible with Stadium "2"

Post by Skeleton » 27 Feb 2013, 20:46

Fix wrote:ah yes, you're right, normals were just DTX5 *.dds in TMNF, now it's a special format. You just need to resave them into the new format, the source before the new compression is the same as TMNF.
You need to cut alpha channel first and paste back into red channel I think.

User avatar
HawkGer
Translator
Translator
Posts: 226
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 01:11

Re: TMU/NF Mods NOT Compatible with Stadium "2"

Post by HawkGer » 27 Feb 2013, 23:53

yep Skele...and add a Hue/Saturation layer with +50 lightness. Then you get the same results....
Image

User avatar
Skeleton
Posts: 595
Joined: 23 Jun 2010, 19:42

Re: TMU/NF Mods NOT Compatible with Stadium "2"

Post by Skeleton » 28 Feb 2013, 00:44

HawkGer wrote:yep Skele...and add a Hue/Saturation layer with +50 lightness. Then you get the same results....
No HawkGer mate, save as 3Dc XY 8 bpp | Normal Map. If you do this then open it back up in photoshop you will see the change without adding saturation.

User avatar
HawkGer
Translator
Translator
Posts: 226
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 01:11

Re: TMU/NF Mods NOT Compatible with Stadium "2"

Post by HawkGer » 28 Feb 2013, 01:46

Oops I should have remembered that, so silly :oops:
Image

User avatar
Skeleton
Posts: 595
Joined: 23 Jun 2010, 19:42

Re: TMU/NF Mods NOT Compatible with Stadium "2"

Post by Skeleton » 28 Feb 2013, 01:49

HawkGer wrote:Oops I should have remembered that, so silly :oops:
We're all learning mate.
You plan on updating some stadium mods and putting them on Maniapark?

User avatar
HawkGer
Translator
Translator
Posts: 226
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 01:11

Re: TMU/NF Mods NOT Compatible with Stadium "2"

Post by HawkGer » 28 Feb 2013, 11:42

I was planning that ....but then I learned today that the transparency can't be added at all except for RoadGrid and StadiumStructureAlpha.
The same bullshit as in Canyon.
It was tolerable in Canyon because there weren't any mods and tracks yet so you could work around it.
But no transparency in Stadium? I would say goodbye to RPG in Stadium 2.
RPG players are not gonna migrate to Stadium 2 with such a crucial element missing. At least not many.

So Fix, would it be possible to add transparency to at least
StadiumPlatformFloorD.dds
StadiumFabricFloorD.dds
StadiumFabricStructureD.dds
StadiumFabricD.dds
StadiumWarpSpotsD.dds
StadiumRaceSignsRubberD.dds
StadiumPillarD.dds

and maybe
StadiumSculpt2D.dds
StadiumSculptD.dds
StadiumRoadD.dds
StadiumRoadBorderD.dds

and can we have a seperate texture for the water ground? If the water is raised we have a texture now we are driving on (used to be transparent). I want to make it transparent again. Or maybe make it so the texture doesn't appear in the first place when raising the water?
Image

User avatar
eie
Posts: 261
Joined: 21 Oct 2010, 19:47

Re: TMU/NF Mods NOT Compatible with Stadium "2"

Post by eie » 28 Feb 2013, 13:25

I support HawkGer's message, transparent blocks are certainly needed in the construction of RPG maps.

There are maps which would never work with such a change, especially Kryw's Polytech Plasma and in general, the possibility to create transparent textures are essential in the making of windows and invisible roads in general is a very basic RPG element.

I'm not a skilled modder myself, although I have created a few mods, and making things transparent have been important in the making of some of those.
Trackmania2 ♥

User avatar
Skeleton
Posts: 595
Joined: 23 Jun 2010, 19:42

Re: TMU/NF Mods NOT Compatible with Stadium "2"

Post by Skeleton » 28 Feb 2013, 13:46

I was going to suggest this for Canyon and Storm because same there, only transparency on the Alpha textures.
I have to admit it was a lot better when we could add transparency on any texture.

User avatar
Skeleton
Posts: 595
Joined: 23 Jun 2010, 19:42

Re: TMU/NF Mods NOT Compatible with Stadium "2"

Post by Skeleton » 28 Feb 2013, 14:24

Am I going completely mad or am I getting old?
I can't seem to mod the StadiumRoadBorderD.dds and my old TMNF mods aren't showing this texture :?

SadHik
Posts: 484
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 11:17
Location: FR - Grenoble
Contact:

Re: TMU/NF Mods NOT Compatible with Stadium "2"

Post by SadHik » 28 Feb 2013, 14:34

yeah go Fix, please update so we can start a new world of mod on maniapark :pop:

:thx:
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Workbench”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests