CP/Start/Finish blocks

Talk about the track editor here

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
wraith
Posts: 660
Joined: 06 Apr 2011, 16:13
Location: UK, North East, Durham
Contact:

CP/Start/Finish blocks

Post by wraith » 25 Oct 2019, 15:51

Hello everyone

Not sure if its a problem with you's but i have always had a little problem with the Blue/Yellow/Green/Red around the Start, Checkpoint, Finish and Multilap blocks when in map building, trying to place an item near the roadside becomes guess work.
Which i started to think is there any way of making the color banding around the block more transparnet of in Advance map making the option to turn it off would nice.. here is a little image of what i mean..

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1xpDAhl ... sp=sharing
Image

User avatar
undef.de
Posts: 2027
Joined: 06 Apr 2011, 21:57
Location: Germany, North Sea Coast
Contact:

Re: CP/Start/Finish blocks

Post by undef.de » 25 Oct 2019, 17:51

+1
Developer of UASECO, a controller with support of the Modescript Gamemodes for TM².
Visit the official website for more: UASECO.org


Developer of various plugins for XAseco/XAseco2 and MPAseco, visit my lab: www.undef.name

You like what I do? Then award a ManiaStar.

User avatar
reggie1000
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 54
Joined: 29 Apr 2015, 17:48
Location: France

Re: CP/Start/Finish blocks

Post by reggie1000 » 25 Oct 2019, 19:13

Hi,
I'm not on a computer right now so I cannot check, but I believe that you can use HideBlockHelpers = True; in a plug-in to hide these.
Nadeo|Lama on ManiaPlanet :D
I work on the map editor, plugins and more.

Hit me up in french, dutch or english :thumbsup:

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15110
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: CP/Start/Finish blocks

Post by TMarc » 25 Oct 2019, 19:24

In the help menu of the editor, there is a "show helpers" / "hide helpers" setting, but apparently it only displays a horizontal grid at the cursor location or not.
Could the block helpers perhaps be connected to that setting?
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

User avatar
wraith
Posts: 660
Joined: 06 Apr 2011, 16:13
Location: UK, North East, Durham
Contact:

Re: CP/Start/Finish blocks

Post by wraith » 26 Oct 2019, 09:15

Hi guys
I could not find anything to remove the block helps around the cps etc, but found some other nice short cuts to viewing a number of blocks lol.

Still would love to find out if you can remove it.
Image

User avatar
reggie1000
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 54
Joined: 29 Apr 2015, 17:48
Location: France

Re: CP/Start/Finish blocks

Post by reggie1000 » 26 Oct 2019, 11:34

reggie1000 wrote:
25 Oct 2019, 19:13
Hi,
I'm not on a computer right now so I cannot check, but I believe that you can use HideBlockHelpers = True; in a plug-in to hide these.
Have you tried this? Did it not work?
Nadeo|Lama on ManiaPlanet :D
I work on the map editor, plugins and more.

Hit me up in french, dutch or english :thumbsup:

User avatar
Demented
Posts: 2309
Joined: 07 Nov 2010, 13:17
Location: United States

Re: CP/Start/Finish blocks

Post by Demented » 26 Oct 2019, 16:30

Even just changing them all to 50% transparency would be nice (& effective).
Funny, that problem has bugged me a bit for some time but for some reason I never thought to say anything about it.
CPU: Intel I7-4770 64Bit @ 3.4Ghz.
Ram: 32GB DDR3
GPU: Geforce GXT 1060 6.2GB DDR5
Windows: 7 Pro SP1 64bit

User avatar
eyebo
Translator
Translator
Posts: 3263
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 12:01
Contact:

Re: CP/Start/Finish blocks

Post by eyebo » 18 Nov 2019, 02:24

reggie1000 wrote:
26 Oct 2019, 11:34
reggie1000 wrote:
25 Oct 2019, 19:13
Hi,
I'm not on a computer right now so I cannot check, but I believe that you can use HideBlockHelpers = True; in a plug-in to hide these.
Have you tried this? Did it not work?
I wasn't specifically looking for this, but noticed it while reading through the forum. It does indeed work! Thanks!!! This will make placing items in those areas a lot easier.

Attached is a plugin for toggling BlockHelpers. Thanks to reggie for the code!

You can place the script in:
Documents\ManiaPlanet\Scripts\EditorPlugins\TrackMania\

And then activate it via Plugins Mode [Shortcut: P] in the Map Editor.

Very cool!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by eyebo on 18 Nov 2019, 15:42, edited 1 time in total.
My tracks on: Mania Exchange (TM2) | TrackMania Exchange (TMUF)

For the devs: Ryzen 7 1800X / 32GB RAM / GTX 1080 (477.22) @ 3840x2160 / Win10 64bit

User avatar
reggie1000
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 54
Joined: 29 Apr 2015, 17:48
Location: France

Re: CP/Start/Finish blocks

Post by reggie1000 » 18 Nov 2019, 10:47

HideBlockHelpers is not WriteOnly, you can also read it :thumbsup:
This way, you can simply write HideBlockHelpers = !HideBlockHelpers; for a simple toggle :yes:

Also, you do not need a while for this. You do not want this to be constantly activated.
This is enough to have a functional toggle :

Code: Select all

#RequireContext CMapEditorPlugin

HideBlockHelpers = !HideBlockHelpers;
Nadeo|Lama on ManiaPlanet :D
I work on the map editor, plugins and more.

Hit me up in french, dutch or english :thumbsup:

User avatar
eyebo
Translator
Translator
Posts: 3263
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 12:01
Contact:

Re: CP/Start/Finish blocks

Post by eyebo » 18 Nov 2019, 15:43

Thanks! :thx: I really gotta learn this stuff someday. :) I replaced the previous ones I posted with this new one. It works great as a toggle!
My tracks on: Mania Exchange (TM2) | TrackMania Exchange (TMUF)

For the devs: Ryzen 7 1800X / 32GB RAM / GTX 1080 (477.22) @ 3840x2160 / Win10 64bit

Post Reply

Return to “Track Editor”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest