Obstacle Game Mode

You can talk about ManiaScript for ManiaPlanet here

Moderator: English Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
steeffeen
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2472
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
Location: Germany

Obstacle Game Mode

Post by steeffeen » 28 Dec 2012, 19:17

Obstacle

The Obstacle Game Mode has been moved into its own Title Pack!

Image

Rules
- Finish the obstacle course as fast as possible.
- To validate a race you must touch the finish after going through all the checkpoints.
- You can start over and improve your time as often as you want.
- The player with the best time at the end of the map wins.

- Press the respawn button (standard: Backspace) or die to respawn at the last reached checkpoint.
- Press respawn again (in the spawn) to restart from the beginning.

- Press F3 if you're ready for the next map (Press F3 again to change your decision).
- Press F4 to disable/enable respawning at checkpoints.
- Click on a player on the scoreboard to spectate him/her. (Click on him/her or on yourself to play again.)

ObstacleMaps@Mania-Exchange.com

Don't hesitate to post any bugs you've found or ideas/wishes for this game mode. =)

Steff
Last edited by steeffeen on 11 Feb 2014, 16:05, edited 9 times in total.

bosnak
Posts: 42
Joined: 22 Jun 2012, 19:03

Re: Obstacle Game Mode

Post by bosnak » 28 Dec 2012, 20:18

Obstacle is awesome! Wooo go Steffen!!! :thumbsup: :yes:

User avatar
PapyChampy
Posts: 821
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 15:02
Location: Paris

Re: Obstacle Game Mode

Post by PapyChampy » 28 Dec 2012, 20:28

Tried it, very nice indeed. I think this mode was needed as it is perfect for parkour maps. A good thing would be to get some more accessible maps for beginners, in my opinion.

Anyway, keep it up. :thumbsup:
Image

SMPuga
Posts: 4
Joined: 25 Dec 2012, 21:54

Re: Obstacle Game Mode

Post by SMPuga » 29 Dec 2012, 13:12

Make two shoot variants: Shoot/NoShoot
Make two player variants: FFA/Team (would require blue/red offzones and blue/red checks)
Make two race variants: NoCircuit/Circuit (you know, laps)
Means you'll get these combinations:
FFA Shoot NoCircuit
FFA NoShoot NoCircuit
FFA Shoot Circuit
FFA NoShoot Circuit
Team Shoot NoCircuit
Team NoShoot NoCircuit
Team Shoot Circuit
Team NoShoot Circuit
8 versions of one mode!!! Would be very fine, if it was done...
Thanks for reading,
Puga

User avatar
Omnixor
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2959
Joined: 03 Jul 2010, 17:07
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: Obstacle Game Mode

Post by Omnixor » 29 Dec 2012, 16:37

PapyChampy wrote:A good thing would be to get some more accessible maps for beginners, in my opinion.
this. after trying it now, I won't join Obstacle/TA servers ever again.
- staff head of ESL TM²Stadium -

User avatar
steeffeen
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2472
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
Location: Germany

Re: Obstacle Game Mode

Post by steeffeen » 04 Feb 2013, 23:31

I just released Obstacle Version 1.3

it includes the option for server owners to modify the default restart button AND offers each player the option to modify the restart key by himself. :yes:

(Dropbox link has the new file! while maniapark needs about 24h to update the file -.-)
    Game Mode and Title Pack Creator, Developer, ShootMania-Player & more

    ManiaControl, FancyManiaLinks

    alka_seltzer
    Posts: 4
    Joined: 25 Feb 2013, 22:28

    Re: Obstacle Game Mode

    Post by alka_seltzer » 27 Feb 2013, 21:44

    Hi !
    I downloaded your game mode, and I have a problem with the checkpoints... They do not work... I have 9 CP on my map, with one goal... each CP goes with a CPspawn but the checkpoints just act like normal blocks... could you help me please?

    User avatar
    slugish
    Posts: 129
    Joined: 10 Jul 2012, 04:30
    Location: United States | Kentucky | Somerset
    Contact:

    Re: Obstacle Game Mode

    Post by slugish » 19 Mar 2013, 09:35

    I am having difficulty setting up an obstacle map. I have placed the Obstacle.Script.txt file in My Documents/ManiaPlanet/Scripts/Modes/Shootmania and the ObstacleArena.Script.txt file is in My Documents/ManiaPlanet/Scripts/MapTypes/Shootmania. I am able to select TimeAttackArena as my maptype, but I can't seem to find a way to assign spawn other than the first one to CPSpawns. Selecting a spawn simply tells me that "This anchor is not editable." I also don't understand how to select the order of the checkpoints. Can anyone advise?

    User avatar
    steeffeen
    Translator
    Translator
    Posts: 2472
    Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
    Location: Germany

    Re: Obstacle Game Mode

    Post by steeffeen » 19 Mar 2013, 09:41

    slugish wrote:I am having difficulty setting up an obstacle map. I have placed the Obstacle.Script.txt file in My Documents/ManiaPlanet/Scripts/Modes/Shootmania and the ObstacleArena.Script.txt file is in My Documents/ManiaPlanet/Scripts/MapTypes/Shootmania. I am able to select TimeAttackArena as my maptype, but I can't seem to find a way to assign spawn other than the first one to CPSpawns. Selecting a spawn simply tells me that "This anchor is not editable." I also don't understand how to select the order of the checkpoints. Can anyone advise?
    hey slugish,
    thanks for your interest in obstacle :)
    you will need to select ObstacleArena as map type (click on the text showing the current map type in the top left corner and click on "select from file" in the opened dialog, in the next step you should be able to pick ObstacleArena.Script.txt)
      Game Mode and Title Pack Creator, Developer, ShootMania-Player & more

      ManiaControl, FancyManiaLinks

      User avatar
      slugish
      Posts: 129
      Joined: 10 Jul 2012, 04:30
      Location: United States | Kentucky | Somerset
      Contact:

      Re: Obstacle Game Mode

      Post by slugish » 19 Mar 2013, 09:45

      Wow... I must be stupid. I was overlooking the obstaclearena file and was using time attack! Thanks for the info!

      Post Reply

      Return to “ManiaScript”

      Who is online

      Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest