AK's ManiaScript Tutorial/Reference

You can talk about ManiaScript for ManiaPlanet here

Moderator: English Moderator

krial057
Posts: 57
Joined: 13 Nov 2010, 20:15

AK's ManiaScript Tutorial/Reference

Post by krial057 » 27 Aug 2011, 15:07

NOTICE: THIS DOCUMETATION IS OUTDATED AND NOT COMPLETE. FOR A NEWER AND BETTER ONE, VIEW THE ONE OF konte: http://forum.maniaplanet.com/viewtopic.php?f=279&t=4851
AK's ManiaScript Tutorial
Hey, I wrote a small Tutorial about ManiaScript. I hope you enjoy. (If you find any grammatical or other sorts of errors, please report them ;) (There will be a lot xD)

Where is ManiaScript used?
At the moment, ManiaScripts are mainly used for:
-ManiaLinks
-Track Editor Plugins
-Maniatracker
What is possible with ManiaScript?
Unlike a lot of people thought, ManiaScript is at the moment not able to change car physics or handle car events.
Here is the list with the possibilities for the different categories:
For the ManiaLinks:
• You can edit ManiaLink Elements (change position, show, hide, change Text, …)
• You can handle some Input Events (Mouse click, keyboard events, …)
For the Editor Plugin:
• You can create ManiaLink Elements, which are then layered over the editor. (this results, that also all the possibilities of Manialink functions are available)
• You can do nearly everything that is possible in the Editor too (Placing Blocks, enter a specific mode (testmode, …). However it is not possible to do things that are also not possible in the Editor(like placing Blocks at the same position, remove pillars, …)
For the ManiaTracker:
• You can change the camera position and rotation
• … (Don’t know much information)
The programming language
It appears that ManiaScript is a complete new programming language. Because of this, here are some informations I found out: (Basic programming skills needed)
Structure of a program:
Like in C, the program starts from the main function (However the main function has no return type, not even Void oO, it’s like a constructor in C++ or Java). Program Example:

Code: Select all

#RequireContext CGameCtnEditorPluginScriptHandler
main()
{
	DialogDoMessage("Hello world");
}
If you don’t declare any function, you don’t need the main function. Example:

Code: Select all

#RequireContext CGameCtnEditorPluginScriptHandler
DialogDoMessage("Hello world");
However this will NOTwork:

Code: Select all

#RequireContext CGameCtnEditorPluginScriptHandler
Void sayHello()
{
	DialogDoMessage("Hello world");
}
sayHello();
You may notice that every statement ends with a semicolon character (;).
The language is also case sensitive. This means, that "Dialogdomessage" is not the same as "DialogDoMessage".
The comments are the same as in C: /* comment */ for multiple line comments and // for single line comments.
Variables and Data Types:

Fundamental data types
Here a list of the fundamental data types:
Void
Boolean:
True or False
Integer
…,-5,-4,-3,-2,-1,0,1,2,3,4,5,…
Real
-4.325 0.0 0.1
Notice: You have to set a point, even if you have 1, you have to enter 1.0 or 1. . If you want to convert a integer to a real, you could write for example: 1.*Map.Size.X
Text
“blabla1” "\"Hello\nworld\""
Class <- ?
Vec2
object with 2 real numbers: <5.0,10.3>, <-10.0,10.3>, …
The members can be accessed with vector.X and vector.Y, or like an array vector[0] vector[1]
Vec3
Same as Vec2, just with 3 real numbers.: <5.0,10.3,10.3>, <-10.0,10.3,-5.>, …
The members can be accessed with vector2.X and vector2.Y and vector2.Z , or like an array vector[0] vector[1] vector[2]
Int3
Same as Vec3, just with integers: <5,10,10>, <-10,10,-5>, …
Iso4

Compound Data Types
Arrays
An array is formed like in php: Every element has a key and a value:

Code: Select all

declare Text[Text] Colors = ["Red1"=>"Diamond", "Red2"=>"Heart", "Black1"=>"Spade", " Black2"=>"Club"];
DialogDoMessage(Colors["Red2"]);
You can access element values by specifying the key.: Array[key]=value.
The declaration is like the following:
declare valueType[keyType] ArrayName = [key1=>value1, key2=>value2];
Yet another example:

Code: Select all

declare Text[Integer] Colors = [0=>"Diamond", 1=>"Heart", 2=>"Spade", 3=>"Club"];
DialogDoMessage(Colors[2]);
Variable declarations
Declarations always begin with the “declare” keyword.
You can declare variables in 2 ways. If you don’t want to give the variable a value at declaration, you have to define the data type at declaration. If you give the variable immediately a value, you don’t need to precise the data type.
Example:

Code: Select all

declare Integer varInteger; //Works
declare Integer varInteger=5; //Works
declare varInteger=5; //Works
declare varIntger; //DOES NOT WORK!
Global Variables
You can’t declare global variables outside of the main() function, like in C. If you want to declare a global variable, you have to enter the keywords “for ManialinkPage” after the declaration:

Code: Select all

#RequireContext CGameCtnEditorPluginScriptHandler
Void sayHello()
{
   declare Text a for ManialinkPage;
   DialogDoMessage(a);
}
main()
{
   declare Text a for ManialinkPage;
   a="Hello world";
   sayHello ();
}
Notice: You have to declare the variable in every function where you want to use it.

Constant Variables
You can declare constants with the following syntax:
#Const nameOfTheConstant Value

Example:
#Const Pi 3.1415
...
x=x*Pi;

Operators
Arithmetic operators ( +, -, *, /, % )
+addition
-subtraction
*multiplication
/division
%modulo

Code: Select all

declare a=3+5; //a=8
a=7%5 //a=2
Compound assignment (+=, -=, *=, /=,^=)
Notice: ^= only works, for text. It will append text to another text.
declare a=0;
a+=1; //a=1
a+=3; //a=4
a*=3;//a=12
a%=5;//a=2

Increase and decrease (++, --)
NOT POSSIBLE WITH MANIASCRIPT ATM!

Control Structures
Conditional structure
The If and else conditional
The if and else structure is the same as in C:

Code: Select all

if (x >0)
{
	Sign=”Positive”;
}
else if (x<0)
{
	
	Sign=”Negative”;
}
else
	Sign=”Null”
Notice: If there is only a single statement to be executed, you don’t need to put the braces { }.
Iteration structures (loops)
The while-loop
The while loop is the same as in C:

Code: Select all

while (x < 10)
{
	x+=1;
}
The for-loop
The for-loop has the following stucture:

Code: Select all

for(counter vaiable, from, to)
{
	Statement;
	...
}
Notice: The counter variable gets declared by ManiaScript. So you don’t need to declare the variable:

Code: Select all

//declare Integer i; -> Not needed
for(i, -5, 10)
{
	x+=i;
}
The selective structure: switch
The switch structure is nearly the same as in C. Unlike, than in C, the program goes immediately after a group of statements to the end of the switch. So, you don’t need to enter a break; after every group of statements.

Code: Select all

switch (expression)
{
  case constant1:
     group of statements 1;
  case constant2:
     group of statements 2;
  .
  .
  .
  default:
     default group of statements
}
More coming soon :yes:
Last edited by krial057 on 05 Sep 2011, 18:54, edited 10 times in total.

krial057
Posts: 57
Joined: 13 Nov 2010, 20:15

Re: AK's ManiaScript Tutorial

Post by krial057 » 27 Aug 2011, 15:08

Maniascript in Manialinks
I won't write a Tutorial about how to use Maniascript in Manialinks, because there is already a very good one:
ManiaLinks Tutorial
Maniascript in ManiaLinks

Use Maniascript for Editor Plugins
(coming soon...)
Last edited by krial057 on 01 Sep 2011, 15:28, edited 1 time in total.

krial057
Posts: 57
Joined: 13 Nov 2010, 20:15

Re: AK's ManiaScript Tutorial

Post by krial057 » 27 Aug 2011, 15:08

(reserved)

User avatar
kalimerre
Posts: 1173
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 11:05
Location: Paris

Re: AK's ManiaScript Tutorial

Post by kalimerre » 29 Aug 2011, 12:03

Nice tutorial, stick it ! I wait other parts ;)

krial057
Posts: 57
Joined: 13 Nov 2010, 20:15

Re: AK's ManiaScript Tutorial/Reference

Post by krial057 » 29 Aug 2011, 17:13

Thank you, this motivates me :3
A small update:
added Arrays, Global Varaibles and Control structures (While, for, switch, if)

I'll probably go next deeper inside the editorplugin scripts. Like how Coordinations are handled, the main functions, ...

User avatar
TGYoshi
Posts: 811
Joined: 15 Mar 2011, 16:59

Re: AK's ManiaScript Tutorial/Reference

Post by TGYoshi » 29 Aug 2011, 20:53

Mmmm wasting time on this while Nadeo is writing it as well :P.
However, useful if you want to get started right now.
=3

User avatar
Boss-Bravo
Posts: 247
Joined: 10 Jan 2011, 18:26
Location: Devant mon PC :D
Contact:

Re: AK's ManiaScript Tutorial/Reference

Post by Boss-Bravo » 01 Sep 2011, 06:55

Nice Tutorial, Thanks ;) :yes:
Image

User avatar
SurferIX
Posts: 79
Joined: 10 May 2011, 16:14
Contact:

Re: AK's ManiaScript Tutorial/Reference

Post by SurferIX » 04 Sep 2011, 15:15

Hi!
Very nice tutorial, and it's very useful (it's missing from your links about ManiaLinks, so keep on the good work :clap: ).

You forgot one thing, it's not :

Code: Select all

for(counter vaiable, from, to)
But:

Code: Select all

for(counter vaiable, from, to[, step])
The step variable is optional but exists :D .
http://olivierpons.fr
Mon dernier framework hautes performances : http://www.papdevis.fr

User avatar
dePaljas
Posts: 55
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 17:41

Re: AK's ManiaScript Tutorial/Reference

Post by dePaljas » 07 May 2016, 17:47

Thanks a lot. I suppose the nearly in:
You can do nearly everything that is possible in the Editor too
includes placing 'items' (editor's F4, or 'objects' if you will)..
[Mobo: FOXCONN A7DA-S/A7DA] [CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE] [Memory: 4GB] [Video: MSI 660 Ti]

User avatar
Florenzius
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2373
Joined: 27 Jul 2014, 20:31
Location: Germany » Saxony » Chemnitz
Contact:

Re: AK's ManiaScript Tutorial/Reference

Post by Florenzius » 07 May 2016, 18:15

Nope, i don't think so
Creative Director at TrackMania One - 3D Modeler for Pursuit - ManiaExchange Crew - ManiaPlanet Beta tester
___
Hardware
MB: MB AM3+ 970 Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P
RAM: 16GB
CPU: AMD FX-8320E Enlight-Core
GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 960
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Post Reply

Return to “ManiaScript”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest