NadeoImporter [update 2019/10/09]

Discuss everything related to custom data creation.

Moderator: NADEO

User avatar
Skyslide
Posts: 221
Joined: 14 Dec 2014, 17:20

Re: NadeoImporter [update 2014/10/22]

Post by Skyslide » 19 May 2019, 12:32

i fully support florenzius, please give us a new importer version with the new physicids and updated lib :)
i also suggest simple @keyframes animation like in css, transform: translate() rotate() scale(); :P
Image

User avatar
Florenzius
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2451
Joined: 27 Jul 2014, 20:31
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: NadeoImporter [update 2014/10/22]

Post by Florenzius » 28 Jun 2019, 19:19

Now that we'll get the blocks officially, we'd appreciate if you could update the importer and MatLib too.
Thanks! :thumbsup:
Creative Director at unbitn studio - 3D Modeler for Pursuit - ManiaExchange Crew - ManiaPlanet Beta tester and Translator
___
MB - AM3+ 970 Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P
RAM - 16GB
CPU - AMD FX-8320E Enlight-Core
GPU - Nvidia GeForce GTX 960

User avatar
dePaljas
Posts: 60
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 17:41

Re: NadeoImporter [update 2014/10/22]

Post by dePaljas » 04 Jul 2019, 22:15

Hi guys, what am I doing wrong?

If I have a material named StadiumControlGlass in Blender, and no material in the item.xml, all works fine:

Code: Select all

NadeoImporter.exe Mesh (path).fbx
NadeoImporter 2017-05-18_12_54
Created :user:(path).Mesh.gbx
Created :user:(path).Shape.gbx
But when I do e.g.:

Code: Select all

    <Material Name="A" Link="StadiumControlGlass"/>
And name the material "A" in Blender, importing the FBX will not generate the Shape.gbx (notice the missing two "Created" lines below that are present above):

Code: Select all

NadeoImporter.exe Mesh (path).fbx
(nothing reported, but also no error)

Code: Select all

NadeoImporter.exe Item (path).Item.xml
NadeoImporter 2017-05-18_12_54
file not found : (file).Shape.gbx
Again, when naming the material directly after the target material name, all is fine.
If I change the name of the Link attribute to something bogus, I get an error about it.
If I change the name of the material in Blender to something bogus, I get an error about it.

Any ideas?..

PS: the end goal was to override the PhysicsId to something else than the default Ice. I've also tried copy/paste the material in NadeoImporterMaterialLib.txt and rename to e.g. StadiumControlGlassMine and use that material name in Blender. The import works fine then, but the material will be a solid red color.
[Mobo: FOXCONN A7DA-S/A7DA] [CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE] [Memory: 4GB] [Video: MSI 660 Ti]

User avatar
Skyslide
Posts: 221
Joined: 14 Dec 2014, 17:20

Re: NadeoImporter [update 2014/10/22]

Post by Skyslide » 05 Jul 2019, 06:10

http://creatingcustomobjectsformaniaplanet.webflow.io/
maybe my tuto helps
jump to "convert assistant" - thank me later
Image

User avatar
dePaljas
Posts: 60
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 17:41

Re: NadeoImporter [update 2014/10/22]

Post by dePaljas » 05 Jul 2019, 21:14

Hi Skyslide, great work on the tutorial. Followed your steps in the CA section.
Enabled the hack, and for debug purposes used a material from your stadium.xml named '_TDSN_StadiumDirtRoad_Dirt'.
I seem to get the same issue as with calling the standalone importer; no Shape.gbx is generated, and no message as to why:
Capture.JPG
When I rename the material to default nadeo material, it imports the item just fine, but of course with the default nadeo material (and default PhysicsId).

I must be doing something stupid.. or can it perhaps be related to some Maniaplanet update? Has someone recently successfully imported an item using a mapped <material/>?

PS: As mentioned earlier, copy, paste, renaming a material in NadeoImporterMaterialLib.txt and use that name in Blender makes the importer work, but you get the solid red material. If I use the default material name, and manually hack the PhysicsId of original material, it works OK. Seems like a workaround, but not sure whether that has some unwanted effect on other things..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
[Mobo: FOXCONN A7DA-S/A7DA] [CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE] [Memory: 4GB] [Video: MSI 660 Ti]

User avatar
xrayjay
Posts: 1468
Joined: 29 Aug 2010, 14:19

Re: NadeoImporter [update 2014/10/22]

Post by xrayjay » 05 Jul 2019, 23:29

the xml have to be modified

the red text tells you what´s wrong ;) the xml in your case

the name in blender doesn´t matter as long as you use the exact same inside the xml, modifying the physics is done in the xml only
if you want to use the "hack" option you have to modify the name with the correct prefix, default should be "Hack_"

but this "hack" is only needed if you want to modify the physics of a matlib material

If you want to use your own material (not of the matlib) than you have to set in the xml the whole information for it
like:

Code: Select all

<Materials>
	<Material Name="MyMaterialName" Model="TDSNI_Night" BaseTexture="Texture/MyMaterialName" PhysicsId="Metal"/>
</Materials>

User avatar
Skyslide
Posts: 221
Joined: 14 Dec 2014, 17:20

Re: NadeoImporter [update 2014/10/22]

Post by Skyslide » 06 Jul 2019, 09:25

you need to enable the hack for _TDSN_ to work, also change the prefix from _Hack to _T, then the physic hack should work, did you check your item xml too? maybe some of my templates works
Image

User avatar
dePaljas
Posts: 60
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 17:41

Re: NadeoImporter [update 2014/10/22]

Post by dePaljas » 06 Jul 2019, 10:16

Hi Slyslide, I did use one of your templates, makes no difference. Xjayjay, of course, red is bad :D. But there is no message. The second red box is just because in the previous step, no shape file was generated and it is needed in the next. Forget the hack, for now I just want to use my own material name, and map it to a nadeo one in the xml. That is what is going wrong. I will create a baremetal test with a cube later and share.

In the meantime; can someone confirm that this material name mapping works on your side still (actually try). Thanks a lot for all the replies.
[Mobo: FOXCONN A7DA-S/A7DA] [CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE] [Memory: 4GB] [Video: MSI 660 Ti]

User avatar
Electron
Posts: 776
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 18:02
Contact:

Re: NadeoImporter [update 2014/10/22]

Post by Electron » 06 Jul 2019, 12:07

dePaljas wrote:
06 Jul 2019, 10:16
In the meantime; can someone confirm that this material name mapping works on your side still (actually try).
It works. I tested it with the sources of these items:
http://www.maniapark.com/ressource.php?id=2282

See also: viewtopic.php?p=268750#p268750

User avatar
dePaljas
Posts: 60
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 17:41

Re: NadeoImporter [update 2014/10/22]

Post by dePaljas » 06 Jul 2019, 12:59

Thanks Electron,

Especially for trying, much appreciated!

I finally figured out what seems to be causing the problem.
When messing with the materials in Blender, I assigned all faces to a single material and things started to work.
When I changed materials, at some point it started to go wrong.
Sometimes I got material not found 'Undefined' (while everything was assigned, I made sure of that).
Sometimes I got the emtpy message, and no shape was generated.

I found out that either error happened when I started mixing nadeo material names with mapped ones!

So when you have materials:

Blender material names:
StadiumPlatform
StadiumPlatformFloor
mesh.xml:
(no <material/> with above names)

All is fine, it uses Nadeo materials.

When you have:

Blender material names:
My_StadiumPlatform
My_StadiumPlatformFloor
mesh.xml:
<Material Name="My_StadiumPlatform" Link="StadiumPlatform"/>
<Material Name="My_StadiumPlatformFloor" Link="StadiumPlatformFloor"/>

All is fine, it uses Nadeo materials.

But! When you have:

Blender material names:
StadiumPlatform
My_StadiumPlatformFloor
mesh.xml:
<Material Name="My_StadiumPlatformFloor" Link="StadiumPlatformFloor"/>

Things start to go south!

The solution is easy, just use either/or.

Now my next issue is:
I now changed (following line works fine):
<Material Name="My_StadiumPlatform" Link="StadiumPlatform"/>
Into:
<Material Name="My_StadiumPlatform" Model="TDSN" BaseTexture="StadiumPlatform" PhysicsId="Metal"/>

But now I'm getting:
NadeoImporter 2017-05-18_12_54 File not found: 'Items\Paljas\blender\StadiumPlatform_D.dds' File not found: 'Items\Paljas\blender\StadiumPlatform_D.tga' Created :user:\Items\Paljas\blender\halfloop_00.Mesh.gbx Created :user:\Items\Paljas\blender\halfloop_00.Shape.gbx

Back to debugging ;). Thanks everyone for the help, the initial issue is solved!!

EDIT: Above problem also solved:

Do not combine link/model in the same xml. Use always either one or the other:

Wrong:
<Material Name="My_Material1" Link="StadiumPlatform"/>
<Material Name="My_Material2" Model="TDSN" BaseTexture="StadiumPlatform" PhysicsId="Metal"/>

Correct:
<Material Name="My_Material1" Model="TDSN" BaseTexture="StadiumPlatform" .../>
<Material Name="My_Material2" Model="TDSN" BaseTexture="StadiumPlatform" PhysicsId="Metal"/>

The red message still appears, but the materials now work OK because of the hack option of ConvertAssistant.
Note also that using the <Material ... Model=.../> approach you now need to use ConvertAssistant, because you need it's hack feature for this to work, even if you don't intend to change e.g. the PhysicsId. You cannot use the bare NadeoImporter only anymore.
[Mobo: FOXCONN A7DA-S/A7DA] [CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE] [Memory: 4GB] [Video: MSI 660 Ti]

Post Reply

Return to “Title Pack & Custom Data Creation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest