Crashes in stadium editor

Moderator: NADEO

User avatar
pjw
Halloween Mapper 2011
Posts: 115
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 01:15
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Contact:

Crashes in stadium editor

Post by pjw » 14 Apr 2013, 20:33

I've gotten two crashes this afternoon while working in the stadium editor. One happened while placing a block, and the other while placing the car for a test drive. Crash logs are here: http://pjwnex.us/temp/ManiaCrash.zip

I haven't been able to repro, but if I'm able to do so, I'll post with more details. :)

User avatar
metal-dad
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 Jul 2012, 13:12

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by metal-dad » 14 Apr 2013, 20:40

Did it happen after being in the editor for quite a while? Because most of the time that seems to be the problem...

User avatar
pjw
Halloween Mapper 2011
Posts: 115
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 01:15
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Contact:

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by pjw » 15 Apr 2013, 04:33

They both happened after a bit over an hour, which isn't all that long (IMO?). I've done much, much longer sessions without a crash, but usually in Canyon, which makes me wonder if this is something exclusive to Stadium (or something exclusive to the latest update, which I didn't grab until yesterday).

I'll have to try some Canyon editing, and see if I have the same difficulty...I also updated vid drivers recently, so that could potentially have some bearing.

User avatar
metal-dad
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 Jul 2012, 13:12

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by metal-dad » 15 Apr 2013, 08:33

This topic was posted several times already. My son and I both have spent some serious time in the editors. The Canyon editor and the Shootmania editor have never ever crashed, but the Stadium editor does everytime after about an hour or so. No matter what blocks or what terrain you use. And most of the time it happens when testing the track, placing your car on a CP. I stopped using the Stadium editor because of this. My son is more persistent ;) and keeps building. But now he saves his work every 5 minutes and closes Maniaplanet after an hour in order to prevent CTD's.

User avatar
angry_duck
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 185
Joined: 14 Oct 2011, 12:17

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by angry_duck » 15 Apr 2013, 17:21

Thanks for the clues but I need more :pop:
pjw wrote:I haven't been able to repro, but if I'm able to do so, I'll post with more details. :)
Have you found out a way to reproduce the bug?

Do you have a map that makes the editor crash "easily" (or is it always after an hour of editing)?
metal-dad wrote:And most of the time it happens when testing the track, placing your car on a CP.
Interesting. Is it always the same CheckPoint block (if so, which one)?
angry_duck

User avatar
metal-dad
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 Jul 2012, 13:12

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by metal-dad » 15 Apr 2013, 17:37

I'll try to reproduce it. But as said, most of the time it happens after an hour or so, so in order to give you some proper feedback, it might take me a full day to check out some different set-ups... :?

User avatar
Electron
Posts: 792
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 18:02
Contact:

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by Electron » 15 Apr 2013, 17:50

Clan members and I have the same problem. The editor crashed after a longer time of using the editor.

My ManiaPlanet folder is full of crash log files:

Win32 Exception : Access violation
=>Occured at address 0xAAAAAAAA
The thread tried to read from the invalid address (data) 0xBBBBBBBB

Both addresses (0xAAAAAAAA and 0xBBBBBBBB) are in every case completely different.
The call stack is also completely different and the accessed address is random (e.g. 0x00000030 or 0x837EBB90).

Some crash logs
Image
TM²: TrackMania Telemetry Monitor version 1.2.2

qweytr
Posts: 85
Joined: 14 Jul 2011, 08:52

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by qweytr » 15 Apr 2013, 19:40

I have encountered similar crashes in canyon that I reported here: http://forum.maniaplanet.com/viewtopic. ... 70&t=18195

For me too it happens only after a long time in the editor and I haven't been able to reproduce it.

User avatar
pjw
Halloween Mapper 2011
Posts: 115
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 01:15
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Contact:

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by pjw » 20 Apr 2013, 23:52

angry_duck wrote:Have you found out a way to reproduce the bug?

Do you have a map that makes the editor crash "easily"
I've been playing around with repro today, and I'm still not sure of the *specific* thing that's causing it, but I have a map + method that will reliably crash my game within a minute or two, sometimes in only a few seconds.

Oddly, I'm no longer getting crash dumps? The game just goes away without writing one...

Download the map here: http://pjwnex.us/temp/CrashMap.zip

This is with Maniaplanet 12/04/2013 11:57

Repro:
1) I'm running windowed at 1280x720, if that matters(?).
2) Load Stadium.
3) Load the map in the editor.
4) Put the camera roughly in the position shown in this screenshot: http://pjwnex.us/temp/crashEditorCam.jpg
5) Alternate doing the following two things over and over:

a) Go into test mode (I click the toolbar icon--car at lower right), put the car anywhere, drop down into the game, and then escape back out.

b) Go into skinning mode (I click the bucket--toolbar, mid-left), select the block highlighted by the red outline in the shot above (5-1-1). Choose a random skin and then "OK". Back to (a).

By doing these two things, I can reliably crash my game within a couple of minutes. Once it only took two cycles (a, b, a, b, then crash the next time I clicked on test mode).

(As a side note, I don't seem to be getting any visible skins on those platform blocks (e.g. Ball Left, Laser Right, etc.), no matter what I pick. They just stay black. Is this something that's still unfinished in Stadium? Hopefully my install isn't broken somehow and that's causing the whole problem... :? )

User avatar
metal-dad
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 Jul 2012, 13:12

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by metal-dad » 21 Apr 2013, 13:49

Another example:

My son had been in Stadium for about 3 hours. Did some racing in solo mode and in between he build 2 complete tracks without any problems. Then, after some racing (solo mode again) he started building a third track. Only a basic mud track. After about 10 minutes he put in some blocks from range 7-7-x. Then suddenly he had a CTD with block 7-7-4. After restart he rebuilded the track exactly the way it was, which was easy, because there wasn't much in it at the time of the crash. But, as expected, how hard he tried, the editor didn't crash. At this very moment he is still building for about 2 hours without any problems. I asked him to continue until it crashes, in order to gather some more info.

Don't know if it helps, but on the other hand, it doesn't hurt either... ;)

Locked

Return to “Trackmania² Canyon Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest