Crashes in stadium editor

Moderator: NADEO

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15056
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by TMarc » 23 Apr 2013, 22:36

Thanks for the investigation and the report :thumbsup:
I have not seen those errors until now. Strange, it looks like some of the files are corrupted, or if you would run the dedicated server. It misses Canyon maps but runs a Storm script. :shock:
The final error related to MwNod is also strange.
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

User avatar
pjw
Halloween Mapper 2011
Posts: 115
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 01:15
Location: Madison, WI, USA
Contact:

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by pjw » 24 Apr 2013, 03:58

Did you see my post of a map + repro instructions on page 1?

Did you try it?

User avatar
angry_duck
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 185
Joined: 14 Oct 2011, 12:17

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by angry_duck » 24 Apr 2013, 18:10

We have identified a cause of crash in Trackmania editor that may be the origin of all these problems. The fix is included in today's update. So please tell me in this topic if you keep having crashes or if it seems to be fixed!

Big thanks for all your help :thumbsup:
angry_duck

User avatar
metal-dad
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 Jul 2012, 13:12

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by metal-dad » 24 Apr 2013, 20:44

Just before today's update I tried to crash the Canyon editor by doing the same thing as I mentioned in my last post about the Stadium editor. But how hard I tried, the Canyon editor didn't crash. Even on a large track, after a lot of copying, cutting and pasting and finally selecting the entire map => cut, nothing went wrong.

However...

Just tried the same trick I did last week in the Stadium editor after today's update and... I'm sorry... CTD... :(

Btw, is there a new version of ManiaPlanet_Logs.exe, because when I use the one dated 10-04-13, ManiaPlanet.exe comes with today's update afterwards, over and over again...

Edit: I made a remake of Stadium A15, but only the track, nothing else. Then I tried to create a dirt area (lower left, first option), filling the entire statium. But as soon as I released my mouse button, I was staring at my desktop again. :o
When I returned to the editor I did some tests with track parts and this mud area, but it all went well. Even when filling the entire stadium with it. So now I have to find out which part in A15 caused this crash...

CORRECTION: In my A15 remake there were some other blocks too, so not only basic track blocks. But the blocks that caused the crash are explained in my next post... Sorry... :oops:
After I removed these blocks (range 7-7-x), I was able to create a mud area beneath the track, filling the entire stadium without any problems.
Last edited by metal-dad on 25 Apr 2013, 11:05, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15056
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by TMarc » 24 Apr 2013, 20:56

yeah, there is no new debug version yet. :oops:
Why don't you just include it with the updates, as long as there is any (Open) Beta of ManiaPlanet?
Then we would not need to ask for it :thumbsup:
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

User avatar
metal-dad
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 Jul 2012, 13:12

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by metal-dad » 25 Apr 2013, 10:33

Found out a simple way to crash the Stadium editor. Included a screenshot, so no further explanation needed... ;)

Image

This might not explain every other crash, but at least maybe some of them. I'll check if in all the maps that crashed over here, there were blocks from range 7-7-x. If so, it'll narrow down the search pretty much, I guess...

EDIT: From the track mentioned in my post the other day, I removed all the blocks from range 7-7-x. With these blocks in it, I had a CTD when I selected the entire track and then trying to cut it. WITHOUT these block, performing the same action, the editor DIDN'T crash! Can we conclude that the problem with the Stadium editor crashes are (more or less) only related to blocks from range 7-7-x? Looks like it... :clap:

User avatar
Electron
Posts: 780
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 18:02
Contact:

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by Electron » 25 Apr 2013, 17:04

You could be right, metal-dad.
My game crashed also while I was using these blocks (7-7-x) in my dirt map.
I can't remember that it crashed again after removing these blocks out of my track.

qweytr
Posts: 85
Joined: 14 Jul 2011, 08:52

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by qweytr » 25 Apr 2013, 17:09

All following scenarios crash the game:
-1. Place dirt under the ground variation of blocks 7-7-1, 7-7-3 or 7-7-5
-2. Cut any selection that has the ground variation of one the above mentioned blocks placed on dirt. The selection must also include all the dirt.
-3. Place any of the above mentioned blocks on a network of block 6-1-3 or any other block that can be placed similarly in a network.
-4. Cut any of these blocks from grass to dirt or dirt to dirt and click undo.

This thread explains the third scenario in greater detail.
http://forum.maniaplanet.com/viewtopic. ... 70&t=17377
Last edited by qweytr on 25 Apr 2013, 17:37, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
metal-dad
Posts: 68
Joined: 14 Jul 2012, 13:12

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by metal-dad » 25 Apr 2013, 17:35

So the detailed cause of this crash, or most of the crashes is already there for nearly two months...? :?

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15056
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Crashes in stadium editor

Post by TMarc » 25 Apr 2013, 20:32

Please don't forget, two months were the major focus was on ShootMania and still is,
but things are going on gradually more and more towards TrackMania² as well :thumbsup:
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

Locked

Return to “Trackmania² Canyon Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest