[Valley] No random placement of forest blocks 6-3-x

Moderator: NADEO

Locked
User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15056
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

[Valley] No random placement of forest blocks 6-3-x

Post by TMarc » 07 Jul 2013, 16:44

When I'm placing a series of trees, by holding down space and moving with the cursor in one direction,
there is no random rotation of the tree blocks 6-3-1, 6-3-2 and 6-3-3:
Image Image Image

So the result looks like a plantation or nursery garden ("pépinière" in French) and less natural.

And there is no tree block like in Canyon that could be placed on the sides of the hill (Terraforming type 2).
I had the hope that the "overlay" (Terraforming type 6) would make it, but it works only on flat ground or flat top of hills/mountains.

Image
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

qweytr
Posts: 85
Joined: 14 Jul 2011, 08:52

Re: [Valley] No trees on mountain 2 sides, no random placeme

Post by qweytr » 07 Jul 2013, 19:41

The overlay can be placed on hillsides. The hills must be placed first and the overlay must also cover some flat area on both the top and the bottom of the hill, so it doesn't work if you only want to cover the hillsides.

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15056
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: [Valley] No trees on mountain 2 sides, no random placeme

Post by TMarc » 07 Jul 2013, 21:52

Cool, thanks! That did the trick, and the overlay block is only working if your selection is at least 2 blocks large.

Image :arrow: Image :arrow: Image :arrow: Image

As you can see, the overlay is randomizing nicely

So this report is now only about missing random tree placement for the 3 forest blocks ;)
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

Locked

Return to “Trackmania² Canyon Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest