Two mapping problems.

Talk about the map editor here

Moderator: English Moderator

FrivolousSam
Posts: 50
Joined: 09 Sep 2011, 18:27
Contact:

Two mapping problems.

Post by FrivolousSam » 21 Jul 2012, 06:47

So, I'm like halfway through recreating Q3DM6 "Campgrounds" in Shootmania when I decide to address the issue of spawn points and it seems you cannot place spawn points undergorund. This is a problem because the whole map is underground, so I tried to work around it by placing a spawn on the surface and walling it in with a hole to drop down into the arena. Problem is, this gives you the mortar weapon and stops you from being able to jump, which causes further problems because the map it quite platform-ey.

Also, lighting is an issue, because when I rendered the shadows all of a sudden most of the area was pitch black.
Last edited by FrivolousSam on 21 Jul 2012, 15:18, edited 1 time in total.
Find me in game as "Tobias"

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15386
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Two mapping problems.

Post by TMarc » 21 Jul 2012, 13:12

did you add any blocks that have lights? or put the whole map deeper in the underground, but add more holes.
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
Discord: TMarc#3002

FrivolousSam
Posts: 50
Joined: 09 Sep 2011, 18:27
Contact:

Re: Two mapping problems.

Post by FrivolousSam » 21 Jul 2012, 14:45

The only blocks that have lights are the cave ones that are incompatible with the blocks that I am building the map out of, but I managed to fix the lighting problem by adding in skylights.

Finished the map layout, all I need now is to find someone with mad maniascript skills to see if they can put in a bunch of underground spawns and disable the mortar, or maybe write a custom melee game mode for this map though that would be less efficient. Compiling shadows atm and will upload the map when I can, it actually turned out pretty nice.
Last edited by FrivolousSam on 21 Jul 2012, 15:17, edited 1 time in total.
Find me in game as "Tobias"

FrivolousSam
Posts: 50
Joined: 09 Sep 2011, 18:27
Contact:

Re: Two mapping problems.

Post by FrivolousSam » 21 Jul 2012, 15:03

And here is the complete version, took me a while to find another host, sendspace appears to have died

http://www.filedropper.com/dm6map
Find me in game as "Tobias"

kalstrams
Posts: 383
Joined: 06 Jul 2012, 22:56

Re: Two mapping problems.

Post by kalstrams » 21 Jul 2012, 20:59

Just build a hill, and make an underground in the hill. In that case you'll get your spawns at the same level.

FrivolousSam
Posts: 50
Joined: 09 Sep 2011, 18:27
Contact:

Re: Two mapping problems.

Post by FrivolousSam » 22 Jul 2012, 03:19

kalstrams wrote:Just build a hill, and make an underground in the hill. In that case you'll get your spawns at the same level.
That's what I did, the elevation doesn't stop any underground entrance block from switching you into mortar mode. Most of the level is above 0,0,0
Find me in game as "Tobias"

kalstrams
Posts: 383
Joined: 06 Jul 2012, 22:56

Re: Two mapping problems.

Post by kalstrams » 22 Jul 2012, 03:53

Indeed, this games gives you things to scratch your head. Especially when it comes to indoor environments

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15386
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Two mapping problems.

Post by TMarc » 22 Jul 2012, 10:10

Yeah, I also think indoor - or better say underground - is just a gimmick but not the principal blocks to use.
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
Discord: TMarc#3002

FrivolousSam
Posts: 50
Joined: 09 Sep 2011, 18:27
Contact:

Re: Two mapping problems.

Post by FrivolousSam » 22 Jul 2012, 10:49

TMarc wrote:Yeah, I also think indoor - or better say underground - is just a gimmick but not the principal blocks to use.
That's an unnecessary limitation for map designers though :(

Also, video of the map here. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=60abHFvqdzU
Find me in game as "Tobias"

volum
Posts: 19
Joined: 19 Aug 2011, 12:17

Re: Two mapping problems.

Post by volum » 22 Jul 2012, 22:58

Cool map, what program did you use to place those platform blocks and bridges underground?
I couldnt do it with TMunlimiter

Post Reply

Return to “Map Editor”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests