ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Discuss the Dedicated Server Tools developed by Nadeo Live such as ManiaLive, Trust Circles, Dedicated Manager, Competition Manager and Lobbies

Moderator: NADEO

User avatar
Jojo_44
Posts: 500
Joined: 12 Jul 2010, 15:58
Location: Germany->Bavaria
Contact:

Re: ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Post by Jojo_44 » 08 Jan 2011, 14:30

oliverde8 wrote:did you set the labels width? if the label isn't wide a not TM will cut it automatically
That´s it ;)

Thank you, Jojo
Image
my english sounds very unfriendly but it isn´t ;)

User avatar
aseco
Posts: 99
Joined: 06 Jul 2010, 17:08
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Post by aseco » 13 Jan 2011, 19:13

Just released a new package. There have been lots of changes in the graphical user interface, so if your plugins have been relying onto it, then you probably need to fix some things now.
You can check out the latest versions of the official plugins to see what has changed and how it has been fixed.

Download:
http://code.google.com/p/manialive/downloads/list

Changes are:
* manialib has been moved to its own library folder and is completely independent now.
- fixed issues in the updater script.
+ updater script is now user interactive.
+ improved windowing performance.

This is still a beta, there maybe some bigger changes in the future as well.
I hope we are not causing too much trouble :-)

Here are the new plugins that are working well with this ManiaLive version:
http://files.manialive.com/plugins/Menubar_r1828.zip
http://files.manialive.com/plugins/Dedimania_r1828.zip
http://files.manialive.com/plugins/Admin_r1828.zip
http://files.manialive.com/plugins/Profiler_r1828.zip

Little preview of the profiler, which is really helpful for us as well:
Image

Pay attention, these version haven't been updated on the other sources yet.
Tomorrow I will officially release them with more information on what exactly did change.
This is just for you to try and use - as kind of a preview.

Enjoy!
i7 920 | Nvidia GTX260 | 4Gb DDR3
www.floschnell.de | I like that comic

oliverde8
Posts: 1328
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 07:33
Location: in a Blue Box

Re: ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Post by oliverde8 » 13 Jan 2011, 19:37

Great, it was strange to find the ManiaLib in the ManiaLive sources :D

I will never finish my Menu at this speed. (already adapted)
Image
Developper for The next generation, Clean and Powerfull controller eXpansion for your SM & TM server . Working on eXpansion² with full MP4 support and many other awesome features...

oliverde8
Posts: 1328
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 07:33
Location: in a Blue Box

Re: ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Post by oliverde8 » 14 Jan 2011, 17:26

Hi,

As you may know I am making a Menu at the moment, I have some problems.

In my configuration fileI have parameters as plugin="Flo\Profiler" function="showStats"
I then try to call them using callMyPublicMethod of course as the function isn't set as a Public method using setPublicMethod I can't call it.

I wondered how can I call a public function that hasn't have been set as Public.
The solution would have been to get acces to the Object of the plugin but that to I didn't find.

Thanks
Image
Developper for The next generation, Clean and Powerfull controller eXpansion for your SM & TM server . Working on eXpansion² with full MP4 support and many other awesome features...

User avatar
aseco
Posts: 99
Joined: 06 Jul 2010, 17:08
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Post by aseco » 14 Jan 2011, 17:55

oliverde8 wrote:Hi,

As you may know I am making a Menu at the moment, I have some problems.

In my configuration fileI have parameters as plugin="Flo\Profiler" function="showStats"
I then try to call them using callMyPublicMethod of course as the function isn't set as a Public method using setPublicMethod I can't call it.

I wondered how can I call a public function that hasn't have been set as Public.
The solution would have been to get acces to the Object of the plugin but that to I didn't find.

Thanks
Hey, well the thing is:
if you would not have to make a method public to be callable from outside of a plugin, then you wouln't need the public-thingy at all :-)
So there is no way to access the plugin in any other than calling a public method of it.
I get your point and in fact I am thinking about the whole public story ... For the moment there is no solution to your problem. Either I can make the method public - if you wish - or there need to be changes on the general system in the future. But I can't make any promises ...
i7 920 | Nvidia GTX260 | 4Gb DDR3
www.floschnell.de | I like that comic

oliverde8
Posts: 1328
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 07:33
Location: in a Blue Box

Re: ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Post by oliverde8 » 14 Jan 2011, 18:06

aseco wrote:
oliverde8 wrote:Hi,

As you may know I am making a Menu at the moment, I have some problems.

In my configuration fileI have parameters as plugin="Flo\Profiler" function="showStats"
I then try to call them using callMyPublicMethod of course as the function isn't set as a Public method using setPublicMethod I can't call it.

I wondered how can I call a public function that hasn't have been set as Public.
The solution would have been to get acces to the Object of the plugin but that to I didn't find.

Thanks
Hey, well the thing is:
if you would not have to make a method public to be callable from outside of a plugin, then you wouln't need the public-thingy at all :-)
So there is no way to access the plugin in any other than calling a public method of it.
I get your point and in fact I am thinking about the whole public story ... For the moment there is no solution to your problem. Either I can make the method public - if you wish - or there need to be changes on the general system in the future. But I can't make any promises ...
I see :roll:
A solution might be to make every function of a chat command public automatically? that is the simpliest but maybe not the correct solution.
I have looked the code and I think that adding a getplugin method to Plugin shouldn't be a problem. Then is it a good idea? I don't really think it is a problem to have access to other plugins object in a plugin. :)

I think that yoy making the method public isn't a solution. You will also need to do it for dedimania and your Admin olugin :D. If everyone that makes a plugin needs to make manually every of their chat functions it would be long, and there would be no guarantee that a plugin maker didn't forgot it.
What is nice with my menu is that usally you can make it do anything you want from the config. But after all you can't :D
Image
Developper for The next generation, Clean and Powerfull controller eXpansion for your SM & TM server . Working on eXpansion² with full MP4 support and many other awesome features...

User avatar
Jojo_44
Posts: 500
Joined: 12 Jul 2010, 15:58
Location: Germany->Bavaria
Contact:

Re: ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Post by Jojo_44 » 17 Jan 2011, 10:55

Hi,

short question. Why do you use mysql instead of mysqli ? mysqli is faster and it is standard since php 5.3. I can´t use manialive in public because i store all recs, my database is ca. 6 GB, and without mysqli it runs very slowly.

regards, Jojo
Image
my english sounds very unfriendly but it isn´t ;)

User avatar
aseco
Posts: 99
Joined: 06 Jul 2010, 17:08
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Post by aseco » 17 Jan 2011, 11:07

Jojo_44 wrote:Hi,

short question. Why do you use mysql instead of mysqli ? mysqli is faster and it is standard since php 5.3. I can´t use manialive in public because i store all recs, my database is ca. 6 GB, and without mysqli it runs very slowly.

regards, Jojo
Hi Jojo,
currently we haven't planned to write a ManiaLive driver based on mysqli, but if you want to do so we will be happy to include it into the ManiaLive project. The problem is, that we can't provide an interface for every database available. We've used mysql because it was already available from the ManiaLib project which was < 5.3.
i7 920 | Nvidia GTX260 | 4Gb DDR3
www.floschnell.de | I like that comic

User avatar
aseco
Posts: 99
Joined: 06 Jul 2010, 17:08
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Post by aseco » 17 Jan 2011, 11:16

oliverde8 wrote:
aseco wrote:
oliverde8 wrote:Hi,

As you may know I am making a Menu at the moment, I have some problems.

In my configuration fileI have parameters as plugin="Flo\Profiler" function="showStats"
I then try to call them using callMyPublicMethod of course as the function isn't set as a Public method using setPublicMethod I can't call it.

I wondered how can I call a public function that hasn't have been set as Public.
The solution would have been to get acces to the Object of the plugin but that to I didn't find.

Thanks
Hey, well the thing is:
if you would not have to make a method public to be callable from outside of a plugin, then you wouln't need the public-thingy at all :-)
So there is no way to access the plugin in any other than calling a public method of it.
I get your point and in fact I am thinking about the whole public story ... For the moment there is no solution to your problem. Either I can make the method public - if you wish - or there need to be changes on the general system in the future. But I can't make any promises ...
I see :roll:
A solution might be to make every function of a chat command public automatically? that is the simpliest but maybe not the correct solution.
I have looked the code and I think that adding a getplugin method to Plugin shouldn't be a problem. Then is it a good idea? I don't really think it is a problem to have access to other plugins object in a plugin. :)

I think that yoy making the method public isn't a solution. You will also need to do it for dedimania and your Admin olugin :D. If everyone that makes a plugin needs to make manually every of their chat functions it would be long, and there would be no guarantee that a plugin maker didn't forgot it.
What is nice with my menu is that usally you can make it do anything you want from the config. But after all you can't :D
I think there is a getPlugin method already in the PluginHandler, but it is protected against access from outside. This whole encapsulation is done by purpose. The public methods have been implemented to be able to differentiate between methods that can be called by ManiaLive from those who can be invoked by other plugins.It's a feature I wouldn't like to drop very much, which is why I prefer to have public methods within every plugin. I try to make it clear for all authors to have public methods and also to use them myself :oops:
PS: I am thinking about setting chat commands as public automatically, that could make sense, since they can even be called by normal players on the server ...
i7 920 | Nvidia GTX260 | 4Gb DDR3
www.floschnell.de | I like that comic

User avatar
Jojo_44
Posts: 500
Joined: 12 Jul 2010, 15:58
Location: Germany->Bavaria
Contact:

Re: ManiaLive, a new dedicated server manager

Post by Jojo_44 » 17 Jan 2011, 16:04

aseco wrote:Hi Jojo,
currently we haven't planned to write a ManiaLive driver based on mysqli, but if you want to do so we will be happy to include it into the ManiaLive project. The problem is, that we can't provide an interface for every database available. We've used mysql because it was already available from the ManiaLib project which was < 5.3.
Ok thank you for the answer. I will think about it to write it myself. I did some "speedchecks" with my aseco database and mysqli is more than 5-times faster than mysql. With a lot of data it´s more faster.

btw manialive is a very well coded project and a good base to write a alternative to (x)aseco ;)

best regards, Jojo
Image
my english sounds very unfriendly but it isn´t ;)

Post Reply

Return to “Dedicated Server Tools”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests