[BUG] Graphics issue - fullscreen with Nvidia cards

Moderators: w1lla, NADEO

User avatar
eyebo
Translator
Translator
Posts: 3007
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 12:01
Contact:

[BUG] Graphics issue - fullscreen with Nvidia cards

Post by eyebo » 15 Feb 2018, 02:52

This is what my game looks like when I open the map editor in fullscreen. I launch the game fullscreen.

This is new since the February update. In fact, it didn't even look this way in either of the preview builds posted in the dedicated server forum earlier this month.

As a workaround, I can press ALT+ENTER to go windowed to fix it. Then I'm able to ALT+ENTER again to go fullscreen and it's fine.

Image

Image
Last edited by eyebo on 15 Feb 2018, 14:41, edited 2 times in total.
My tracks on: Mania Exchange (TM2) | TrackMania Exchange (TMUF)

For the devs: Ryzen 7 1800X / 32GB RAM / GTX 1080 (477.22) @ 3840x2160 / Win10 64bit

LuckyBoy
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 540
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 17:43

Re: [BUG] Editor is Black & White after Feb 9, 2018 update

Post by LuckyBoy » 15 Feb 2018, 10:18

Hi, this look like a bug specific with 10X0 NVidia card reported before on previous game versions.
NVidia was not able to reproduce the issue.
You're saying the reproduction is easy, right ?
Could you give us more details:
On the repro. steps and on your config:
I see you've a 1080 but do you have multi-display setup ?
Are you displays using same resolution ?
Are you asking the game the same resolution as windows' display one ?

Thanks

User avatar
eyebo
Translator
Translator
Posts: 3007
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 12:01
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Editor is Black & White after Feb 9, 2018 update

Post by eyebo » 15 Feb 2018, 11:59

LuckyBoy wrote: Hi, this look like a bug specific with 10X0 NVidia card reported before on previous game versions.
NVidia was not able to reproduce the issue.
You're saying the reproduction is easy, right ?
Yes. It's easy. It happens every time I open the game and go to the map editor.
And it's happened across 2 driver versions. The driver in my signature is the current one I'm using.
LuckyBoy wrote:Could you give us more details:
On the repro. steps and on your config:
I see you've a 1080 but do you have multi-display setup ?
No. I'm using a single monitor. BenQ BL3201-B. No other monitors or TVs are connected to the PC. Just this monitor, connected via DisplayPort.

As to the reproduction steps:
Launch ManiaPlanet from a desktop shortcut. I use the standalone version.
Connect normally.
Go to a title.
Go to map editor.
Choose Advanced editor or Simple editor (both have it)
Choose any mood (they all have the same issue)
LuckyBoy wrote:Are you displays using same resolution ?
Are you asking the game the same resolution as windows' display one ?

Thanks
Windows and ManiaPlanet are set to the same resolution, the monitor's native resolution, 3840x2160.

I'm using Windows 10 Home (10.0.16299 Build 16299)

Windows resolution:
Image

ManiaPlanet launcher settings:
Image
Image
Image
Image

Storm Water:
Image

Storm Land:
Image

Lagoon:
Image

Stadium:
Image

Stadium64:
Image

Even some of the overlay messes up if I enter a title and then exit back to the main menu.
Image

And legacy titles, like the TM2 one have messed up buttons, which disappear until I hover over them:
Image

And this affects all titlepacks, not just the new maker ones. I opened the editor in TM2 multi-env and in TMOne Alpine. Both had the same issue.

In all these cases, if I tab out and back in, it fixes it.
If I go windowed, it fixes it. Going fullscreen again and the problem doesn't return. It's only there when loading the game fullscreen.

Okay, I just performed a little test. I actually have a second install of ManiaPlanet on another partition. It doesn't have the issue.

But if I copy over my Default.SystemConfig.Gbx from the install that has the issue, the second install also has the issue.

Deleting Default.SystemConfig.Gbx and letting ManiaPlanet generate a new one allows the second install to work again.

Here's a copy of the configuration with the issue: Default.SystemConfig.Gbx
And a copy of the new config that ManiaPlanet generated (this one works): Default.SystemConfig.Gbx

It's not the most pressing issue for me personally (since there's a workaround), but it's one I'd never experienced before, and I've had this card for over a year.

Thanks for taking an interest in the issue. I imagine more people will be picking up 10X0 series cards as time goes on and prices drop.
My tracks on: Mania Exchange (TM2) | TrackMania Exchange (TMUF)

For the devs: Ryzen 7 1800X / 32GB RAM / GTX 1080 (477.22) @ 3840x2160 / Win10 64bit

User avatar
eyebo
Translator
Translator
Posts: 3007
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 12:01
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Editor is Black & White after Feb 9, 2018 update

Post by eyebo » 15 Feb 2018, 12:17

Here's a couple more screenshots.

So it also happens when opening existing maps in the editor.

A map with no validation and no lightmap:
Image

A validated map with a lightmap:
Image
My tracks on: Mania Exchange (TM2) | TrackMania Exchange (TMUF)

For the devs: Ryzen 7 1800X / 32GB RAM / GTX 1080 (477.22) @ 3840x2160 / Win10 64bit

User avatar
eyebo
Translator
Translator
Posts: 3007
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 12:01
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Editor + Racing, Fullscreen, Black & White after Feb 9, 2018 update

Post by eyebo » 15 Feb 2018, 13:41

Okay, it's more than just the editor. I'm not sure why I didn't notice that before. Maybe because I tab in and out a lot to check Discord.

Solo/Single Map:
Image
Image
Image

Multiplayer:
Image
My tracks on: Mania Exchange (TM2) | TrackMania Exchange (TMUF)

For the devs: Ryzen 7 1800X / 32GB RAM / GTX 1080 (477.22) @ 3840x2160 / Win10 64bit

User avatar
eyebo
Translator
Translator
Posts: 3007
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 12:01
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Graphics issue - fullscreen with Nvidia cards

Post by eyebo » 15 Feb 2018, 14:26

juvo says he has the same bug with his GTX 660.
But he thinks he's had the bug for a month or two, maybe.

Going windowed or tabbing out and back in also fixes it for him.

Here's his config file: Default.SystemConfig.Gbx

I launched my game with his config file, which is apparently set to 1080p.

And I experienced it as well. This is my PC with juvo's config:

Image
My tracks on: Mania Exchange (TM2) | TrackMania Exchange (TMUF)

For the devs: Ryzen 7 1800X / 32GB RAM / GTX 1080 (477.22) @ 3840x2160 / Win10 64bit

User avatar
db89
Translator
Translator
Posts: 408
Joined: 11 Aug 2010, 09:10
Location: Vèneto

Re: [BUG] Graphics issue - fullscreen with Nvidia cards

Post by db89 » 16 Feb 2018, 14:04

Happens to me too from the February update. I have a NVidia GT640, Win8.1 x64 and play in 1366x768 screen resolution.

User avatar
undef.de
Posts: 1834
Joined: 06 Apr 2011, 21:57
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Graphics issue - fullscreen with Nvidia cards

Post by undef.de » 21 Feb 2018, 22:42

I've reported this a year (or so) ago, can't find that post... I was using a GTX 1060 at that time. So it's not new (to me).
Developer of UASECO, a controller with support of the Modescript Gamemodes for TM².
Visit the official website for more: UASECO.org


Developer of various plugins for XAseco/XAseco2 and MPAseco, visit my lab: www.undef.name

You like what I do? Then award a ManiaStar.

User avatar
maxi031
Posts: 351
Joined: 17 Jul 2011, 00:55

Re: [BUG] Graphics issue - fullscreen with Nvidia cards

Post by maxi031 » 22 Feb 2018, 00:42

I had some problem with black parts, not in this proportions but it wont hurt to try. What fixed it for me is i uninstantiated whole maniaplanet and deleted everything related to it than downloaded last maniaplanet and did fresh installation process all over again. Some remains from previews installation were causing problems for me so fresh installation fixed it.
My specs:
MOBO: MB AM3+ 970 Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P
CPU: AM3+ AMD FX-8320E
GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX750-Ti ASUS 2GB DDR5
RAM: DDR3 8GB 1866MHz Kingston HyperX
SSD: SATA3 120gb SanDisk
OS: Windows 7 Profesional SP1 64-bit OS
TY MICMO

User avatar
Miss
Posts: 1463
Joined: 05 Jan 2016, 11:34
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: [BUG] Graphics issue - fullscreen with Nvidia cards

Post by Miss » 22 Feb 2018, 11:06

Perhaps deleting the shader cache will fix this?
1070 GTX, i7 4790k, 16GB RAM, Windows 10
Forum moderator, opinions are my own. :thx:
Check out Image openplanet, the alternative Maniaplanet & Turbo scripting platform! (Openplanet subforum)
I also stream on Twitch and tweet on Twitter.

Post Reply

Return to “Maniaplanet Reports”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests