skipmap

ManiaControl, the completely new designed and easy to use controller managing all your Maniaplanet server.

Moderators: kremsy, Jocy, Wabbitface, steeffeen, NADEO

oliverde8
Posts: 1341
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 07:33
Location: in a Blue Box

Re: skipmap

Post by oliverde8 » 23 Jun 2014, 21:43

what kremsy is trying to say is there might be a second controller(eXpansion or a web site like adminserv) if a user on that controllers asks for a map skip then ManiaControl won't know about it and thus the event won't be triggered.

Edit : That is why we had disabled our load screen plugin, and due to the incredibly slow loading time of the image, :)
hopefully Nadeo will allow do it possible, like it was before :)
Last edited by oliverde8 on 23 Jun 2014, 21:46, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Developper for The next generation, Clean and Powerfull controller eXpansion for your SM & TM server . Working on eXpansion² with full MP4 support and many other awesome features...

User avatar
steeffeen
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2472
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
Location: Germany

Re: skipmap

Post by steeffeen » 23 Jun 2014, 21:43

yes if maniacontrol is skipping the map we can inform plugins about it
but there might be other controllers that are calling NextMap so that you can't rely on MC to inform you because it won't know that someone else called NextMap
i just wanted to point that out because i thought you want to build a feature that critically depends on the skip information
    Game Mode and Title Pack Creator, Developer, ShootMania-Player & more

    ManiaControl, FancyManiaLinks

    kremsy
    Posts: 1725
    Joined: 21 Jul 2011, 09:51

    Re: skipmap

    Post by kremsy » 23 Jun 2014, 21:50

    just let it disable until the BeginMap callback appears.
    Lukas alias Kremsy, Developer of:
    ManiaControl: http://www.maniacontrol.com
    ParagonLeague: http://league.paragon-esports.com
    MPAseco: http://mpaseco.org
    ManiaViewer: http://www.maniaviewer.com

    User avatar
    toffe
    Posts: 740
    Joined: 15 Jun 2013, 10:57
    Location: The Netherlands
    Contact:

    Re: skipmap

    Post by toffe » 23 Jun 2014, 21:53

    I think it's not good to build a callback for the button, because, earlier already said, map can be skipped from another api caller so you can't trust the callback, and it only creates confusion.
    And is it only because of a loadscreen?

    User avatar
    chco
    Posts: 301
    Joined: 24 Dec 2012, 09:11

    Re: skipmap

    Post by chco » 24 Jun 2014, 11:24

    oliverde8 wrote:what kremsy is trying to say is there might be a second controller(eXpansion or a web site like adminserv) if a user on that controllers asks for a map skip then ManiaControl won't know about it and thus the event won't be triggered.

    Edit : That is why we had disabled our load screen plugin, and due to the incredibly slow loading time of the image, :)
    hopefully Nadeo will allow do it possible, like it was before :)
    Seems many of you use second controllers that's where the confusion comes from, we don't so mc would always initiate the skipmap.
    Beginmap callback would not be an option as the loadscreen needed to appear before the loading of a map.
    Slow loading time of an image would be weird, as they're preloaded at playerconnect.

    And toffe, again thanks for always ending your very constructive replies with degrading comments.
    It would be so nice if you would take the time spend in your replies to my posts and use it to carry some more water to the sea. Would be so much more constructive.
    Image

    User avatar
    chco
    Posts: 301
    Joined: 24 Dec 2012, 09:11

    Re: skipmap

    Post by chco » 24 Jun 2014, 11:30

    I found another solution to tackle this. I'll just use a timer on every second to show and hide the screens, this way it wouldn't matter if a map is skipped or not.
    Thanks for the replies guys!
    Image

    Post Reply

    Return to “ManiaControl”

    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests