Launch ManiaControl on Website ?

ManiaControl, the completely new designed and easy to use controller managing all your Maniaplanet server.

Moderators: kremsy, Jocy, Wabbitface, steeffeen, NADEO

Post Reply
lucsw
Posts: 47
Joined: 04 Jul 2014, 13:34

Launch ManiaControl on Website ?

Post by lucsw » 29 Aug 2014, 12:27

Hi all,
I create this new topic because I've a question:
ManiaControl can be installed and operate properly from a website platform ?
And can it launching by this website without do anything ?

User avatar
steeffeen
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2472
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
Location: Germany

Re: Launch ManiaControl on Website ?

Post by steeffeen » 29 Aug 2014, 12:47

well that depends on what you want to do because i'm not really sure about your purpose

do you want to use maniacontrol to read some information about the server and display it on the website?
or do you want to run maniacontrol as a controller and also control itself from the website?

the first one would be possible, but it would be easier if you would just use the dedicated-server-api, after all maniacontrol would also write the startup and shutdown messages and display the widgets for a second etc
the second one wouldn't be really feasible because the website's php thread would only run for a short moment and a server controller would need to keep running all the time

or do you want to do something different? ^^
    Game Mode and Title Pack Creator, Developer, ShootMania-Player & more

    ManiaControl, FancyManiaLinks

    lucsw
    Posts: 47
    Joined: 04 Jul 2014, 13:34

    Re: Launch ManiaControl on Website ?

    Post by lucsw » 29 Aug 2014, 13:01

    I go translate it to french and I awnser you after :D

    lucsw
    Posts: 47
    Joined: 04 Jul 2014, 13:34

    Re: Launch ManiaControl on Website ?

    Post by lucsw » 29 Aug 2014, 13:08

    Sorry for the double post but I've your awnser.
    I would your second proposition :)
    So it´s not possible ? :s
    And if my hoster load that website always ?
    It´s possible ?

    User avatar
    steeffeen
    Translator
    Translator
    Posts: 2472
    Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
    Location: Germany

    Re: Launch ManiaControl on Website ?

    Post by steeffeen » 29 Aug 2014, 13:37

    each time you view a website the server is using a separate thread/process, so the controller can't keep running
    it needs a long-term process running endlessly

    you won't find a controller doing that, because it's simply not possible
    (it would be possible to build a controller <-> website construct that makes it possible to pass commands to the controller via a website and vice versa, but you would still need to be able to start the controller from the command line)
      Game Mode and Title Pack Creator, Developer, ShootMania-Player & more

      ManiaControl, FancyManiaLinks

      lucsw
      Posts: 47
      Joined: 04 Jul 2014, 13:34

      Re: Launch ManiaControl on Website ?

      Post by lucsw » 29 Aug 2014, 13:55

      Hmm, OK, thank you :)
      I awnser my hoster if they can install a admin tool ^^

      Post Reply

      Return to “ManiaControl”

      Who is online

      Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest