Skin not showing with locator [solved]

Moderator: English Moderator

Post Reply
karterhns
Posts: 5
Joined: 23 May 2019, 17:29

Skin not showing with locator [solved]

Post by karterhns » 27 May 2019, 20:58

Hello everyone,

I'm struggling with the skins and being able to show it on servers.
I've made my own skin (BroKar) and i have the .zip file in the right folder (Maniaplanet/skins/models/StadiumCar/) and i have the locator.

But nobody see my car in game, they either see the grey skin or even another country one.

And after 2 hours of trying any other host services and tryed a bunch of things with the files i just can't figure it out, maybe someone can help?

I've uploaded the zipfile of the skin and locator here: https://www.sendspace.com/file/8ly69w

And there's a photo attached of how it is setup.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Electron
Posts: 765
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 18:02
Contact:

Re: Skin not showing with locator

Post by Electron » 27 May 2019, 22:29

Your locator redirects to a different URL:
https://doc-14-b4-docs.googleusercontent.com/docs/securesc/ha0ro937gcuc7l7deffksulhg5h7mbp1/esu03p3f6d8dehagu5egt5epun9k4ir0/1558987200000/11683515824941449103/*/1CPd8jZXcWQROImC1s9diO5NrRaUiXzYi?e=download
Try this one instead.

The safest way, however, is to use a direct download link that ends with BroKar.zip.

User avatar
nighthawk4571
Posts: 530
Joined: 20 Aug 2011, 06:39
Location: QLD, Australia
Contact:

Re: Skin not showing with locator

Post by nighthawk4571 » 27 May 2019, 22:34

Alternatively, I suggest you check your Launcher settings: Click on 'Configure button' then -> Advanced -> PeertoPeer (tab at top of sheet) -> Advanced.
https://imgur.com/a/HcryNEq

You need to have 'Model Skins' ticked to share your car skin.


Cheers .... :pil
Nighthawk
Getting old, forgetting most of what I ever learned !
My name is Nighthawk. The 4571 used to be my IQ.
Image

Admin: http://bagracing.freeforums.org/portal.php
U-tUbe: https://www.youtube.com/user/bvnighthawk

karterhns
Posts: 5
Joined: 23 May 2019, 17:29

Re: Skin not showing with locator

Post by karterhns » 28 May 2019, 01:34

Thank you guys for the fast answer !

So i tryed to change my locator to your link but it's still the same thing, noone can see my skin online and i made sure to check if the p2p settings were right and they are so i really don't know what is going on :/

HaagseSmurf
Posts: 2007
Joined: 13 Apr 2011, 19:46
Contact:

Re: Skin not showing with locator

Post by HaagseSmurf » 28 May 2019, 10:45

To avoid that your old skinname (BroKar.zip) and the wrong locator url is in other peoples cache i would like to suggest the following.

1) Rename your skin to BroKar1.zip

2) Upload BroKar1.zip to google drive for a fast download of the locator.

3) Edit the link you get in Google drive into a force downloadlink:

Usually links from Google Drive look like this:

Code: Select all

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0Bx0m4lXACmehWk1FUHdyaW9CUzQ
Change that into

Code: Select all

https://drive.google.com/uc?export=download&id=0Bx0m4lXACmehWk1FUHdyaW9CUzQ
4) Rename the locatorfile to BroKar1.zip.loc

5) Add the editted link from google drive in your locatorfile (remove the old link before as well of course :P)

6) Start up Maniaplanet and select your skin BroKar1 and have fun online!

Good luck!
HaagseSmurf

Check Smurfen.net and / or Smurfen.nu for all info.
You can also like our facebookpage at FaceBook Smurfen.net.
Or just visit
our Smurfen.net Canyon servers,
the Smurfen.net Valley / Lagoon and
the Smurfen.net Royalserver.

karterhns
Posts: 5
Joined: 23 May 2019, 17:29

Re: Skin not showing with locator

Post by karterhns » 28 May 2019, 13:24

Hey !

I did exactly what you did step by step and it seems to be working !!! So thanks a lot HaagseSmurf for your fast answer and your help !

That's awesome ! :]

HaagseSmurf
Posts: 2007
Joined: 13 Apr 2011, 19:46
Contact:

Re: Skin not showing with locator

Post by HaagseSmurf » 28 May 2019, 15:07

Great to hear and glad i could help!
HaagseSmurf

Check Smurfen.net and / or Smurfen.nu for all info.
You can also like our facebookpage at FaceBook Smurfen.net.
Or just visit
our Smurfen.net Canyon servers,
the Smurfen.net Valley / Lagoon and
the Smurfen.net Royalserver.

Post Reply

Return to “Support and technical issues (not bug)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests