[BUG]Extremely bright lights after shadow calculation

Moderator: English Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
CatWithScarf
Posts: 103
Joined: 15 Jul 2016, 17:26
Location: Poland, Tychy
Contact:

[BUG]Extremely bright lights after shadow calculation

Post by CatWithScarf » 23 Sep 2020, 15:16

Since few days I've encountered an issue with extremely bright lights after shadow calculation, mostly noticeable in canyon (but applies to other environments as well, but not that much) mostly on dusk and night maps. Pictures below:

1) Canyong night map. Picture taken when map loaded and it computed very fast shadows:
Image
and here's a picture after I computed default shadows:
Image

It looks awful. :(

2) Canyon dusk map. Picture taken when map loaded and it computed very fast shadows:
Image
and here's a picture after I computed default shadows:
Image

Clean instalation of maniaplanet did not help with the issue. I also reinstalled my graphic card driver AND did the clean windows instalation. Same result with same settings. Even with high(er) settings effect is the same. Map loads, shadows are fine (very fast) then I have to compute them to get these bright lights.
Here are my specs: AMD Radeon (TM) R5 M330, 4GB RAM, Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4030U CPU @ 1.90GHz, Windows 10
and here are my settings that I build and save my maps with (I also play on these settings): https://imgur.com/a/3jioInf

And here's my question. What can I do to fix this? If nothing above did not help. I'm looking for an anwser.
Thanks for the replies in advance.
Image
Image

PhoebeTM
Posts: 6
Joined: 17 Nov 2018, 11:15

Re: [BUG]Extremely bright lights after shadow calculation

Post by PhoebeTM » 23 Sep 2020, 15:27

Quick tag from me because I had the same issue earlier this year, will add information when I have time (unresolved)

It seems to be an issue with the lightmaps, where the intensity value of each light emitting block or object is about 200% rather than default max of 100%, and after calculating shadows the radius also updates and the entire map lights up like a christmas tree.

I started experiencing the issue when I downloaded and then used a custom created light object that had modified values of radius and intensity; which then broke my maniaplanets lightmaps permanently, even after deleting the item/object from my computer, reinstalling maniaplanet, and ultimately reinstalling windows

I will add some information when I have time to add to this bug report

Post Reply

Return to “MP4.1 REPORTS / BUGS / INFORMATION”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest