Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Moderator: NADEO

Post Reply
XCaliber
Posts: 177
Joined: 18 Oct 2011, 17:45

Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Post by XCaliber » 10 Jul 2019, 17:13

I have a map that I built with no Items.

Then i take this version and copy it to create a new map with Items.

I watch the Item size Tracker when i save it to see how much file size is taken or used.

When I finished adding all the items I wanted(basically i used a new item for each cp (24 cps)=(24 items). *plz don't judge this... i am trying to make a point.

So... the item file size usage says: Number of models: 24, Total Size: 25.0 kB. Map should be able to be edited within the Map Editor right???

Nope ! I try to open the map after shutting down game and starting fresh the next day and instead of being able to edit the map, the game crashes.
the map is broken. It crashes the game each time i try to edit it.

Why?

As mentioned before, the only difference between the map version i can edit and the new version i can not edit is the Items added in the later version.

User avatar
Miss
Posts: 1870
Joined: 05 Jan 2016, 11:34
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Post by Miss » 10 Jul 2019, 17:47

If it's a crash, that's very different from "the size limit tracking is inaccurate". Can you post the logfile (generated using the logs version of the game) & map file so the developers can test?
1070 GTX, Ryzen 3700X, 16GB RAM, Windows 10
Forum moderator, opinions are my own. :thx:
Check out Image openplanet, the alternative ManiaPlanet & Turbo scripting platform! (Openplanet subforum)
I also stream on Twitch and tweet on Twitter.

XCaliber
Posts: 177
Joined: 18 Oct 2011, 17:45

Re: Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Post by XCaliber » 10 Jul 2019, 18:38


User avatar
Miss
Posts: 1870
Joined: 05 Jan 2016, 11:34
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Post by Miss » 11 Jul 2019, 09:09

Yep, that works. Do you have the map file too?
1070 GTX, Ryzen 3700X, 16GB RAM, Windows 10
Forum moderator, opinions are my own. :thx:
Check out Image openplanet, the alternative ManiaPlanet & Turbo scripting platform! (Openplanet subforum)
I also stream on Twitch and tweet on Twitter.

XCaliber
Posts: 177
Joined: 18 Oct 2011, 17:45

Re: Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Post by XCaliber » 11 Jul 2019, 14:45

Sent via Private Message.

User avatar
niebo26
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 109
Joined: 19 Apr 2011, 19:00
Location: Grenoble, France

Re: Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Post by niebo26 » 11 Jul 2019, 16:08

Hi XCaliber,

I had a look on your map in both dev and players versions and i could load it without any issues. I had a quick look in the crashlog and it seems that your issue comes from an item indeed. Which is weird cos i don't have anything here. Maybe your RPG titlepack is not up to date ? Maybe you have an item named the same as another item and it gets replaced and it corrupts anything ? Since i can't reproduce the issue, i can't tell you anything besides what's above unfortunately :/

Niebo
"Don't mesh around !" - ® Haagse, 2019

SUPER SONIC SPEED !

Look for niebo26 in TMU & in TM² :)

XCaliber
Posts: 177
Joined: 18 Oct 2011, 17:45

Re: Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Post by XCaliber » 11 Jul 2019, 17:43

Hey niebo26,

I will add one more thing for you to try. I have noticed that if the map is opened for the first time on a computer, it can be opened, however, if it is closed and opened another time, it can not be opened. My apologize for not mentioning this sooner. So please try this: after successfully opening the map, close it and try to open it again and see if it crashes the game for you.

XCaliber
Posts: 177
Joined: 18 Oct 2011, 17:45

Re: Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Post by XCaliber » 11 Jul 2019, 21:11

I did a complete uninstall of game. and the map still crashed my game.

User avatar
niebo26
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 109
Joined: 19 Apr 2011, 19:00
Location: Grenoble, France

Re: Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Post by niebo26 » 12 Jul 2019, 09:25

Hi XCaliber,

In this new day of work, i just tried launching both on players and dev versions your map. No issues still. Have you tried what i said ? Especially with a rogue Item in your Documents/Maniaplanet/Items folder that can usurpate an item on the map with same filenames.

If you have more information, please write them here.

Niebo
"Don't mesh around !" - ® Haagse, 2019

SUPER SONIC SPEED !

Look for niebo26 in TMU & in TM² :)

XCaliber
Posts: 177
Joined: 18 Oct 2011, 17:45

Re: Item Size limit Tracking is Accurate?

Post by XCaliber » 12 Jul 2019, 14:17

I have checked all item names in item folder and verified that each cp has a different name. I can no longer open the map with items in the editor.

During new install, the downloaded the rpg Title pack so it is fresh install . I have taken all items out of the Item folder and get same result.

so i assume what ever is cause, its embedded now. If you can open the map and i can not, what else could be the issue?

What else can i do?

Post Reply

Return to “Mesh Modeler”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest