Questions and answers

Discuss everything related to Maniaplanet.

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
Demented
Posts: 2321
Joined: 07 Nov 2010, 13:17
Location: United States

Re: Questions and answers

Post by Demented » 22 Nov 2014, 17:20

I know that in Stadium the driver is not "inside" the car but the fact that the driver is enclosed in the other cars doesn't mean you can't see it, and to me is not a good reason not to create even some simple driver polygons.
It just looks funny to me to see a car with no driver especially when the doors come off the car in Canyon or Valley.
Thanks but... While I appreciate the attempts of users to answer things here, when I pose a question in this topic, what I'm looking for is an "official" reply from the people who actually know the answers, the creators of the game, and not just opinions or speculation from users. I thought that was the purpose of this thread.
I've heard many speculations on this topic including "To keep it at a ESRB rating of E" - "To keep frame rates lower" - "To avoid blocking internal views" - etc....
It doesn't really matter to me why, I'm just wondering what the real reason is.
CPU: Intel I7-4770 64Bit @ 3.4Ghz.
Ram: 32GB DDR3
GPU: Geforce GXT 1060 6.2GB DDR5
Windows: 7 Pro SP1 64bit

User avatar
spikeballthehedgehog
Posts: 253
Joined: 08 Oct 2011, 15:51
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Re: Questions and answers

Post by spikeballthehedgehog » 22 Nov 2014, 19:41

Harrison_rus wrote:This is feature of tm. I very like this.
wait what? please explain (I'm sorry if your English isn't that great)
Image
Image
Image

User avatar
Harrison_rus
Translator
Translator
Posts: 734
Joined: 03 Nov 2011, 17:16
Location: Russia

Re: Questions and answers

Post by Harrison_rus » 23 Nov 2014, 10:15

spikeballthehedgehog wrote:wait what? please explain (I'm sorry if your English isn't that great)
As far as I know, all games TM series no have a driver in the cars. For my opinion - drivers not need for this game, because this game about races and cars. Main target - get a fun. No need for reality.
I played in the TM sunrise, nation, united, and I not asking - why cars no have a drivers. For me - this is no need.
Honestly, I dislike other carskins with driver model. For example - hummer. I want see this car without a driver, because I like an empty cars, because car - character of this game, not driver of this car. IMHO. :roll:
Image

User avatar
Demented
Posts: 2321
Joined: 07 Nov 2010, 13:17
Location: United States

Re: Questions and answers

Post by Demented » 23 Nov 2014, 16:57

For me, the driver IS part of the car. It's as important to a race as the wheels or engine. Unless it's radio controlled, a car doesn't move without a driver.
To be fair, while you are driving you don't really notice weather there is a driver or not, but when viewing a video or a replay it looks weird. I've been to races and drive in traffic all the time and I've never seen a car moving without a driver.
:pil :o
CPU: Intel I7-4770 64Bit @ 3.4Ghz.
Ram: 32GB DDR3
GPU: Geforce GXT 1060 6.2GB DDR5
Windows: 7 Pro SP1 64bit

User avatar
Omnixor
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2959
Joined: 03 Jul 2010, 17:07
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania

Re: Questions and answers

Post by Omnixor » 23 Nov 2014, 17:05

Demented wrote:Unless it's radio controlled
who said it's not? :lol:
- staff head of ESL TM²Stadium -

User avatar
Harrison_rus
Translator
Translator
Posts: 734
Joined: 03 Nov 2011, 17:16
Location: Russia

Re: Questions and answers

Post by Harrison_rus » 23 Nov 2014, 18:12

I've never seen a car moving without a driver.
For example: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b_m8DqTlOLE
Oh, can't found races of automatical cars -_- Saw only on discovery channel.

But, I now wait from TM more realistic.
Image

User avatar
Demented
Posts: 2321
Joined: 07 Nov 2010, 13:17
Location: United States

Re: Questions and answers

Post by Demented » 24 Nov 2014, 15:08

Thanks guys. I knew some smart ass would feel the need to set me straight.
Don't forget the DARPA challenge, or Google's driverless cars. And yea, while it's not clearly stated that the cars are not "Radio Controlled" it's assumed by most, so come on. I don't think you guys are that stupid so please don't waste space pretending to be in a topic where people are simply looking for real answers to a real questions. Grow up.
CPU: Intel I7-4770 64Bit @ 3.4Ghz.
Ram: 32GB DDR3
GPU: Geforce GXT 1060 6.2GB DDR5
Windows: 7 Pro SP1 64bit

User avatar
spikeballthehedgehog
Posts: 253
Joined: 08 Oct 2011, 15:51
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Re: Questions and answers

Post by spikeballthehedgehog » 02 Dec 2014, 15:06

Just a quick question, does MP work with Nvidia's new DSR technology? (Dynamic Super Resolution)
Image
Image
Image

Chris67
Posts: 1
Joined: 14 Dec 2014, 03:45

Re: Questions and answers

Post by Chris67 » 14 Dec 2014, 04:00

I played track mania before it was upgraded guess you call it stars version. Been playing the new demo timed have ? when I buy all 3 will I have to down load everything again?? I am 47 and love this game now its been upgraded old version was fine in my book but to players new times..I am glade that a major gaming company has it with nadeo.

Please email me with info I have signed up and you should have my email.

chris67

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15358
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Questions and answers

Post by TMarc » 14 Dec 2014, 22:01

If you already have the demo versions of all three games installed, you might need to donwload some additional stuff, but a complete reinstallation is not required.
Only purchase game keys and activate them for your current ManiaPlanet user account, eventually you might need to restart ManiaPlanet, and all should be fine.
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
Discord: TMarc#3002

Post Reply

Return to “Maniaplanet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests