Maniaplanet 3.1 RC1 quick fix wishes

Discuss everything related to Maniaplanet.

Moderator: English Moderator

Hylis
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 3962
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 11:58

Maniaplanet 3.1 RC1 quick fix wishes

Post by Hylis » 03 Jul 2014, 21:12

Hi, here is the topic to simply list what you would like to see fix for next week and please provide a report.

However, please try to keep this thread clean, without debates. If there should be one, link it in your post.

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15371
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Maniaplanet 3.1 quick fix wishes

Post by TMarc » 03 Jul 2014, 21:16

unconfirmed yet, but a user reported that his own objects can be passed through by cars now, and TM² crashes often. German thread link
Did you already update the debugs log version?
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
Discord: TMarc#3002

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15371
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Maniaplanet 3.1 quick fix wishes

Post by TMarc » 03 Jul 2014, 21:54

  • Buttons "House" (Home?), "i" (Info) and "Multiplayer" are not very responsive. Tried e.g. on TM² and Elite titles.
    I have to click several times, perhaps the hidden link is not on the whole button?
    Or because the Multiplayer has to load lot of data for the server display? I could see the flags dropping in one by one...
    The major buttons above, and of the main menus should cause a direct interruption of any other inside overly action.

    After a mousclick, users generally expect a GUI reaction in less than 1 second. Or they start clicking again and again.
    Even if some data has to be fetched, please switch the contents of the main pane, in worst case display briefly a "loading..." message.
    But please don't leave the users with uncertaincy what the game is doing.

    Edit: I found out now... those three buttons need DOUBLECKLICK :shock:
    Please make them useable with single mouse click only, as it is already with the PLAY button.

    Edit 04.07.14: fixed meanwhile or only bad temporary side effect of network lag or PC overload.
  • The percentage on white update progress bars is white... not readable. Please change font color or make the progress bar with some shade.
  • The info that appears when clicking the i button is (at the moment) very thin. Could be much more descriptive, e.g. have game rules, or screenshot(s), links to useful topics w.r.t to the current title etc. Of course this is probably only a placeholder at the moment.
  • Elite took ~20s to load after clicking on the title, and ManiaPlanet was frozen. No loading bar (at least message "Please wait..." was there :thumbsup: )
  • Elite menu background animation stutters, is perhaps much too detailed, and is due to some data reloading in the background.
    Perhaps provide a more lightweight animation as alternative, e.g. if the user choses "low resolution textures" or has a lower video setting.
  • Elite "crashed" after loading a local server with the GUI and having ALT+TABbed out to Windows... music was still playing, menu (ESC) was working (could hear the typical menu enter and exit sound), but Windows Desktop was displayed (at FullHD resolution = the game resolution). only ALT+F4 helped to exit the game.
    Next attempt, restart ManiaPlanet, launch Elite local server, and it was working fine.
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
Discord: TMarc#3002

novationx
Posts: 2723
Joined: 10 Aug 2013, 22:33

Re: Maniaplanet 3.1 quick fix wishes

Post by novationx » 03 Jul 2014, 22:10

Others can hear the backflip sound, but you urself ( when playing ) cant hear your own backflip? Its a bit weird.
Everybody should hear the same.

I can hear myself minijump
I can hear myself walljump
I can hear myself walk
I can hear myself horn
BUT

I canT hear myself backflip? Very strange imo.
The neverending waiting game has to stop.

User avatar
riolu
Posts: 1349
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 18:39
Location: Germany

Re: Maniaplanet 3.1 quick fix wishes

Post by riolu » 03 Jul 2014, 22:12

offtopic, but how to backflip? :P

By the way, the animated title pack logos (for Stadium, Elite, Royal and Siege) are always black until I hover with the mouse over them. Then they show up correctly.

User avatar
fleo
Posts: 304
Joined: 02 Sep 2011, 12:56

Re: Maniaplanet 3.1 quick fix wishes

Post by fleo » 03 Jul 2014, 22:41

acceleracer_01 wrote:offtopic, but how to backflip? :P
-->Q (or whatever key bind to use consumable 1) + jump
Follow me on my maniaflash. Try the new elitealternative! Feedbacks on this post. :thumbsup:

I need αεяø. I'm holding out for αεяø 'til the end of the night.

novationx
Posts: 2723
Joined: 10 Aug 2013, 22:33

Re: Maniaplanet 3.1 quick fix wishes

Post by novationx » 03 Jul 2014, 23:30

Searching in Friendslist is not clear. I thought it was an empty textbox for a "status"

Suggestion:

-Add the text "search" in low opacity
OR
- Add search icon.


--------------------------------------


when connecting to a server you get the "synchronising" popup. It shows >> arrows << that shouldnt be there
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8ie3tvasc43i9kq/arrows.jpg

Look closely. Its behind the blue rectangle.
The neverending waiting game has to stop.

kata78
Posts: 65
Joined: 02 Sep 2011, 04:15

Re: Maniaplanet 3.1 quick fix wishes

Post by kata78 » 04 Jul 2014, 03:17

Custom objects: Game crashes when try to place one in Editor and is not placeable half underground any more

Example: My "Maximum 30 Seconds" Title Pack, got to Editor Stadium and try to place one of my "concrete" objects, the white on the right in custom blocks menu...

Edit: Same with some of my Grass Objects ... other custom objects seem to work (the names "Ropesbart" etc. work)
Edit2: Maybe this helps: the "Name" Objects that still work are in a directory directly under "Common" e.g. Common\Name, the other objects are in Subdirectories beneath .. e.g. Common\Grass\Loop

thx
kata

P.S.: Something less important, but destroys the impressions of some of my tracks: When you finish a track in solo mode or on server, there where 2 or 3 seconds when you saw the finish ... now it restarts immediatly ... it would be nice if you could restore that or even make it a little longer ... play my "Tribute to TMX" Track in my Title Pack (Green Tracks #2) to see what i mean ;)
Edit3: This only seems to happen, when you change camera with media tracker before hitting the finish. Then no end time is displayed and track restarts immediatly...

P.P.S. And go on with your good work ! :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:
Last edited by kata78 on 04 Jul 2014, 06:47, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
fungist
Posts: 28
Joined: 04 Jul 2014, 03:31

Re: Maniaplanet 3.1 quick fix wishes

Post by fungist » 04 Jul 2014, 03:44

i dont know much about what i am talking about here, but i gonna mention some annoying issues anyway.


-The interface option in settings is grayed out and i cant click it.
-dedi records and different plugins have a blue backround (not transparent), feels like its blocking my screen.
-My friendslist was totally emptied after patch, i lost all my messages and friends.
-im missing a more advanced and better Anti aliasing.
-need options to configure interface, size, transparency, turn on / off stuff.
-i do suffer quite alot from "black screens"/"freeze" though it might be a problem on my side.
-when hitting the finish line my car instantly resets back to start line, which prevents me from seeing those "events" at the finishline, like a jump into the ocean etc.

User avatar
Xymph
Posts: 1403
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 20:35
Contact:

Re: Maniaplanet 3.1 quick fix wishes

Post by Xymph » 04 Jul 2014, 06:28

Fix the replay one lap bug once and for all (don't know if it'll be fixed in the server because there's no new release of that yet).

Edit: it's not fixed in the server either (as expected, since no doubt they share the same codebase for that stuff).
Last edited by Xymph on 04 Jul 2014, 17:41, edited 1 time in total.
Developer of XASECO for TMF/TMN ESWC & XASECO2 for TM²: see XAseco.org
Find your way around the Mania community from the TMN ESWC hub, TMF hub, TM² hub, and SM hub

Locked

Return to “Maniaplanet”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests