New Trackmania?

Discuss everything related to Maniaplanet.

Moderator: English Moderator

rafalrazor

New Trackmania?

Post by rafalrazor »

Hi all,

I'm writing with a willing to discuss. Why Nadeo will not try to develop a brand new Trackmania, like a United2? TMU has been so successful, this player ranking, easy and visible menu eagered people to play. Many players play LoL, Fortnite, CSGO at the moment, but if bright and easy-to-use new Trackmania could pop up, many of them would come back. I've been playing TM since 2007 and this game still rocks but TM2 isn't that what I expected. I still believe for a great Trackmania yet to come!

What are your thoughts?

Best regards!
Miss

Re: New Trackmania?

Post by Miss »

Because Lagoon was not as successful as hoped.
3080 RTX, Ryzen 3700X, 32GB RAM, Windows 11
Forum moderator, opinions are my own. :thx:
Check out Image openplanet, the alternative ManiaPlanet & Turbo scripting platform! (Openplanet subforum)
I also stream and tweet.
rafalrazor

Post by rafalrazor »

I think they have chosen a bad direction to follow. Stadium is the best option anytime I reckon, but childish Turbo wasn't sufficent as well.
TMarc

Post by TMarc »

You forget where you came from.

Turbo is great, a very nicely done arcade style racing game with lots of options and lot of fun, exactly the right stuff for kids and a bit older people.

You cannot take it as "new Trackmania" in terms of a Trackmania successor anyway, and it was was even communicated like this by Nadeo.

Maniaplanet is Trackmania United, at least for the new titles.
Since the size of each title is already too big, they simply cannot have one single game anymore that contains all possible environments without loading time.

If you look e.g. at Battlefield, it takes long time to load one single map already, so it is more a general problem with modern games. Highres textures, Highres models, Highres anything also needs highperf computers, and they are not powerful enough.