Basic help (technical and account/key)

Discuss everything related to Trackmania 2.

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 13885
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Basic help (technical and account/key)

Post by TMarc » 10 Sep 2015, 20:07

Where did you purchase the key, and for which game?
Try restarting your PC.
Was it working fine before? What changed in between? Was there some Windows update for example?
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia GTX 970, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD

Runite
Posts: 8
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 13:32

Re: Basic help (technical and account/key)

Post by Runite » 10 Sep 2015, 20:34

Restarted pc and all fine except one thing.

I launched united and couldn't find servers when I clicked the all button. Launched the TM2 titles, launched TM1 again and it shows the servers perfectly.

I'm going to try restarting my pc again and see whether it does the same thing.

Runite.

Runite
Posts: 8
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 13:32

Re: Basic help (technical and account/key)

Post by Runite » 10 Sep 2015, 20:41

Nvm, all is good.

Runite.

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 13885
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Basic help (technical and account/key)

Post by TMarc » 10 Sep 2015, 21:35

okay :thumbsup:
btw. TM1 (TMUF) uses the same default ports for server communication.
This means that you cannot use both games directly after each other, you need to wait some time (default TCP/IP timeout is something like 2 minutes, better wait some more time).
This might probably have caused your issues ;)
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia GTX 970, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD

User avatar
The_Big_Boo
Posts: 1041
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 15:46

Re: Basic help (technical and account/key)

Post by The_Big_Boo » 11 Sep 2015, 07:14

TMarc wrote:btw. TM1 (TMUF) uses the same default ports for server communication.
This means that you cannot use both games directly after each other, you need to wait some time (default TCP/IP timeout is something like 2 minutes, better wait some more time).
:?: :!:
Default ports are on the server side, not the client side and the TCP/IP timeout is only relevant when a remote doesn't respond but won't prevent you to try the same port on a different remote.
You're basically saying you can't use 2 web browsers at the same time because they both use port 80. You can obviously use both games at the same time, without any trouble.
OS: Win 7 Pro x64
RAM: 2x4GB Corsair @ 1600MHz
CPU: Intel i5 760 @ 3.6GHz
Mobo: Asus P7P55D-E
GPU: NVidia GTX 760 2GB
HDD: WD Black 1TB
Sound: VIA VT1828S (onboard)
Peripherals: Razer DeathAdder - Razer DeathStalker - Logitech F310

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 13885
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Basic help (technical and account/key)

Post by TMarc » 11 Sep 2015, 19:21

Yeah, regarding server ports, you're right, thanks for pointing this out.
However, with each failing, aborted or stopped connection, you can see it shutting down gradually with netstat on the local client.

The game client also acts as server regarding P2P, right?
Of course the ports and the adresses vary here, so the chance of a block is much less there, and this does not explain why the connection and the server list did not work. It would perhaps explain other issues, like missing skins of friends.

Then it was perhaps a temporary issue somewhere else, in the router or on the ISP side.
if someone has a better explanation, please share :)
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia GTX 970, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD

oliverde8
Posts: 1270
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 07:33
Location: in a Blue Box

Re: Basic help (technical and account/key)

Post by oliverde8 » 11 Sep 2015, 22:27

TMarc wrote:The game client also acts as server regarding P2P, right?
Yes, hole punching TCP which is often used to make p2p work without any port redirection. Once the connection created however you can't have another connection on the same port.

For MP case this is only a problem for P2P I quite often have 2 instances of MP running and connected to the same server, so server side same port.

For browsing on the web for example, we make a request to the servers port 80, but the port we use to identify our-self isn't port 80, we will use a unique socket. An unique socket means an unique destination port/ip and local port combination. So we won't receive the response in the port 80 but in a random port that is not used for that particular destination. Therfore we can have multiple process listening at the same time. in reality our port 80 is never used for this.

All this to say I don't see any explanation, XD
Image
Developper for The next generation, Clean and Powerfull controller eXpansion for your SM & TM server with legacy and script mode support. Just give it a try !!

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 13885
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Basic help (technical and account/key)

Post by TMarc » 11 Sep 2015, 23:04

hehe, thanks anyways :thumbsup:
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia GTX 970, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD

Runite
Posts: 8
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 13:32

Re: Basic help (technical and account/key)

Post by Runite » 15 Sep 2015, 15:58

Hi,

Its doing it again, it says something along the lines of "key registration failed, key already registered" or something in trackmania 2 canyon. Restarted it and still does it. Lets me get into game but no servers are availiable.

Runite.

meoronos
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 Oct 2015, 15:47

Re: Basic help (technical and account/key)

Post by meoronos » 10 Oct 2015, 15:59

i have actually the same problem as Runite. i bought the game in 2013 and installed it again last week, i logged in and the game told me that my Key is already activated, so i could only play the demo with my old account. i wrote to the Ubisoft support but they dont answer. :/ can you guys help me?

Post Reply

Return to “Trackmania 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests