Shadows calculation insanely long with a 5700xt gpu

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
kana00
Posts: 39
Joined: 03 Apr 2014, 17:45
Location: Belgique

Re: Shadows calculation insanely long with a 5700xt gpu

Post by kana00 »

I have exactly the same problem. Another player I met in the game has it too. I bought the latest Radeon card available.

My configuration:
- i9-13900k
- Radeon RX 7800 XT (latest driver version: 23.9.3)
- 64 Gb of Ram with XMP profile
- i'm on a SSD NVME (4 on a Raid 0)
- Windows 11 (recent installation)

while i'm gaming, my graphics card is at 50%. When I start to calculate the map, it drops to 2%.
calculating shadows can take up to 2 hours on high settings.

Reproduction procedure:
- launch Maniaplanet
- launch the title pack obstacle
- open a map in the editor
- start calculation

Out of curiosity, I also ran the following command to calculate the shadows of all my maps. The bug persists.

Code: Select all

ManiaPlanet.exe /computeallshadows /useronly /collections=Storm /LmQuality=High
EDIT:
1) I noticed that it does not depend on the title pack used.
2) something quite strange is happening:
- If I ask, on a new map, to calculate the shadows only on a spawn. My gpu is used at 75%
- If I ask, on a new map, to calculate the shadows with blocks (complexity = 968). My gpu is used at 53%
- If I ask, on a new map, to calculate the shadows with blocks (complexity = 1490). My gpu is used at 42%
- If I ask, on a new map, to calculate the shadows with blocks (complexity = 2764). My gpu is used at 18%
- If I ask, on a new map, to calculate the shadows with blocks (complexity = 4307). My gpu is used at 9%
- If I ask, on a new map, to calculate the shadows with blocks (complexity = 8048). My gpu is used at 5%

The more blocks I add, the less my GPU is used.
Last edited by kana00 on 22 Oct 2023, 11:58, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tushy444
Posts: 48
Joined: 18 Feb 2019, 02:18
Location: adanaC

Re: Shadows calculation insanely long with a 5700xt gpu

Post by Tushy444 »

This is a bug with AMD graphics cards. It is fixed in TM2020, but this fix will never come to maniaplanet since nadeo stopped supporting it.
Post Reply

Return to “MP4.1 REPORTS / BUGS / INFORMATION”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests