NadeoImporter: Alpha transparent textures

Discuss everything related to custom data creation.

Moderator: NADEO

RayKoopa

NadeoImporter: Alpha transparent textures

Post by RayKoopa »

Hey there,

I'm new to NadeoImporter and have a relatively simple question:
Which file formats and files names does NadeoImporter expect for alpha-transparent diffuse (32-bit RGBA) textures?

I only found some contradicting information: On top of that, TGA 32-bit with alpha-transparency seems so exotic in comparison to 24-bit non-transparent TGA that I don't know an offline / batch conversion program to convert my PNG textures (Gimp/IrfanView and some other tools I tried fixedly export to 24-bit, and I only found a crappy online conversion service capable of writing "proper" 32-bit TGA files).

I also tried passing in PNG or self-converted DDS files but NadeoImporter then claims it can't find the textures.

Which tools / formats are you using and what am I doing wrong?

I already set the material to use the TDOSN shader which seems required for the transparency to be rendered in-game.

Thanks for your help in advance.
TMarc

Re: NadeoImporter: Alpha transparent textures

Post by TMarc »

If you provide TGA files with the proper naming scheme (texturename_D, _S, _N etc.) to the importer, it will convert them automatically.

Otherwise you also have the possibility to import textures (JPEG, PNG) in the editor, more precisely in the material editor as well.

Of course you can also convert your textures before on your own.
I use the nvidia plugin for Photoshop, which also works fine with Paintshop Pro.

There are some forum posts about the specialties of the textures, e. g. search for specular map.
If I don't forget it, I will add them later here.
RayKoopa

Post by RayKoopa »