CPU/GPU Synchro settings?

Discuss everything related to Trackmania 2.

Moderator: English Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
flidd
Posts: 70
Joined: 16 Aug 2011, 22:21

CPU/GPU Synchro settings?

Post by flidd » 14 Sep 2011, 14:22

What do these settings mean in the advanced settings page? They are also adjustable seperately ingame.
The available options are None, Immediate, 1 frame, 2 frames, 3 frames.
What would be the best settings to have for both cpu and gpu?

User avatar
Trackmaniack
Posts: 2137
Joined: 16 Jun 2010, 16:16
Location: Iowa City, IA
Contact:

Re: CPU/GPU Synchro settings?

Post by Trackmaniack » 14 Sep 2011, 14:55

Immediate unless you want micro-stutter--unless they've fixed that--and unless you have a crappy PC...
WIP

LuckyBoy
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 540
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 17:43

Re: CPU/GPU Synchro settings?

Post by LuckyBoy » 15 Sep 2011, 12:05

Using immediate gpu/cpu synchro, the game'll wait for the gpu to finish each frame before starting another, then gpu work won't be done in same time as cpu due to latency, then global performance will be lost.
With 1 frame, cpu & gpu work more in parallel, then global performance is win.

Sadly, the more frames we allow the driver to "cache", the more chances are to get a lag from time to time,
the DirectX default for maximum frame cache is 3.

Recent Amd/NVidia drivers seem to be ok with 1 frame now, this is the reason why it's the default.

Yet on some devices/config/drivers, even 1 frame may yield to small lags.

Please also note that blocking cpu/gpu parallelism this way will cut any SLi/CrossFire benefit (you've to buffer at least as many frames as GPUs)

Thanks
LuckyBoy

Leak
Posts: 41
Joined: 07 Jul 2010, 13:17

Re: CPU/GPU Synchro settings?

Post by Leak » 15 Sep 2011, 12:10

LuckyBoy wrote:Using immediate gpu/cpu synchro, the game'll wait for the gpu to finish each frame before starting another, then gpu work won't be done in same time as cpu due to latency, then global performance will be lost.
With 1 frame, cpu & gpu work more in parallel, then global performance is win.
So "1 frame" basically amounts to triple buffering, then?

What about the "none" setting? I've been using that since TMUF and never had any problems with it...

LuckyBoy
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 540
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 17:43

Re: CPU/GPU Synchro settings?

Post by LuckyBoy » 15 Sep 2011, 12:39

What about the "none" setting? I've been using that since TMUF and never had any problems with it...
The "None" setting disable any gpu/cpu synchro, then only the driver will limit the parallelism/latency (usually 3 frames).
In this setting you 'll have the maximum global (average) performance, yet this the mode which is the more prone to latency issues (you may get the feeling the car is heavy because the time between when you press a key and when you see it turn may increase), and also more prone to small lag issues (one frame each 20 may be rendered a way slowly because the cpu was in advance to the gpu, and it must stall to wait the gpu at some point).

LuckyBoy
Nadeo
Nadeo
Posts: 540
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 17:43

Re: CPU/GPU Synchro settings?

Post by LuckyBoy » 15 Sep 2011, 12:47

So "1 frame" basically amounts to triple buffering, then?
"1 frame" deals with cpu/gpu synch
Triple Buffer deals with display synch

Gpu/Cpu synchro and Display synchros are 2 differents things, yet they interact each other and they seem to be close.

If you enable Display synchro, you really don't want gpu/cpu's immediate synchro, because the 2 synchros will create 2 possible cpu stall waiting both for display vsync and gpu ending the frame (the 2 are not directly linked).
Then if you enable display synchro, please select at least 1 cpu/gpu frame (or none).

Triple buffering requires a special DirectX device creation which is not available in ManiaPlanet.
Triple buffer has meaning only when display synch is used, it may avoid artifacts of fps jumps (60-30 for instance), but it will increase frame latency.

Thanks
LuckyBoy

tm2_stadium_beta
Posts: 77
Joined: 28 Feb 2013, 01:36

Re: CPU/GPU Synchro settings?

Post by tm2_stadium_beta » 04 Dec 2018, 22:58

I'd like to ask what are the right compatibility settings if you have Nvidia Fast Sync enabled?
My current settings (screenshots): Display compatibility, NVIDIA Control Panel.

PS: I know that this is a very old topic, but it still seems like the right place for my question.

User avatar
null8fuenf10
Posts: 278
Joined: 12 Jun 2016, 11:52

Re: CPU/GPU Synchro settings?

Post by null8fuenf10 » 08 Dec 2018, 13:34

Hi,

you can turn vsync off and write a "0" in Max. FPS , in compatibility! Cause the NVIDIA Driver handles it.
The GPU/CPU Synchro, i have it set to "1" Frame.

And then, i would turn on "TripleBuffering", in NVIDIA ControlPanel. Cause it gives advantages, with VSync on!

The other settings, looks good for me. :thumbsup:

Greetings :pil


P.s. Have you tried, VSync "adaptive", in the NVIDIA Control Panel? Cause i prefer this. The Framerate is stable at 60fps, and nearly no input lag.

Post Reply

Return to “Trackmania 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest