Vsync Problem

Discuss everything related to Trackmania 2.

Moderator: English Moderator

pariah
Posts: 15
Joined: 16 Sep 2011, 14:01

Re: Vsync Problem

Post by pariah » 17 Sep 2011, 14:15

Well with the current setting, if i disabled vsync and try play splitscreen, i can get a stable 42-45 fps. But if i activate vsync, i get 30fps no matter what.

Leak
Posts: 41
Joined: 07 Jul 2010, 13:17

Re: Vsync Problem

Post by Leak » 17 Sep 2011, 18:11

pariah wrote:Well with the current setting, if i disabled vsync and try play splitscreen, i can get a stable 42-45 fps. But if i activate vsync, i get 30fps no matter what.
<achievement>Congratulations, you've successfully activated the VSync option in TM2.</achievement>

"Vsync" means "wait for the vertical sync before displaying a new frame", which in turn means you won't get a mix of the old and the new frame transmitted to your display, which is what causes tearing.

If your GPU is fast enough (or your graphics settings are low enough), you'll get the same number of frames per second as your screens refresh rate. If rendering a frame takes longer than one refresh (i.e. if you see anything lower than 60 FPS with your screen at 60Hz, as in your case) you'll get to see a new frame every second time a frame is sent to your screen. So depending on your non-VSync-FPS with VSync you'll always get either 60, 30, 20, 15, 12, 10 etc. frames per second.

To "fix" this, either get a better graphics card or turn down the graphics quality so rendering a frame takes less time. Easy as that. You can also try setting the GPU/CPU synchro to "None".

pariah
Posts: 15
Joined: 16 Sep 2011, 14:01

Re: Vsync Problem

Post by pariah » 17 Sep 2011, 19:12

Is there a way to fix this? This is really driving me crazy, especially when i play multiplayer. My framerate goes up and down from 60 to 30 and back to 60 again and so on. And when it goes down from 60 to 30fps it really distract me from the race cause its goddamn annoying.

My spec:
i72600k
Gtx560Ti
16gb ddr3
win 7 64
Acer 23' led monitor @1080p
more than enough Hard Drive

pariah
Posts: 15
Joined: 16 Sep 2011, 14:01

Re: Vsync Problem

Post by pariah » 17 Sep 2011, 19:34

Leak wrote:"Vsync" means "wait for the vertical sync before displaying a new frame", which in turn means you won't get a mix of the old and the new frame transmitted to your display, which is what causes tearing.

If your GPU is fast enough (or your graphics settings are low enough), you'll get the same number of frames per second as your screens refresh rate. If rendering a frame takes longer than one refresh (i.e. if you see anything lower than 60 FPS with your screen at 60Hz, as in your case) you'll get to see a new frame every second time a frame is sent to your screen. So depending on your non-VSync-FPS with VSync you'll always get either 60, 30, 20, 15, 12, 10 etc. frames per second.

To "fix" this, either get a better graphics card or turn down the graphics quality so rendering a frame takes less time. Easy as that. You can also try setting the GPU/CPU synchro to "None".
I don't care about your fancy tech talk, if i can play crysis and just cause 2 with vsync and could get around 40-60 fps then this game should too. When playing TM2 multiplayer i get around 50-60fps and with vsync my framerate go from 60 to 30 and back like crazy. Of course lowering the setting will fix this cause i will get more fps. What i'm saying is, i've got this problem before in just cause 2, and then the dev of the game release a patch and it fixed this problem for me and my framerate does not go up and down like crazy from 60fps to 30fps. I can now got framerate between 40-60fps with vsync on.

So obviously this is a problem, and i'm wondering if this problem will get fixed in TM2, or am i really have to buy a new gfx to fix it :roll:

ManiaMaster
Posts: 69
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 13:15

Re: Vsync Problem

Post by ManiaMaster » 18 Sep 2011, 00:28

Same problem with me. But at the beta phase a nadeo guy said this is how v sync works. Halving your refresh rate to 30 if your pc cant handle it 60 fps all the time

he also said that other games use the tripple buffering function to bypass this but nadeo refused to use this because of more latency... :roll:

paralipsis
Posts: 57
Joined: 14 Sep 2011, 00:03

Re: Vsync Problem

Post by paralipsis » 18 Sep 2011, 01:22

ManiaMaster wrote:Same problem with me. But at the beta phase a nadeo guy said this is how v sync works. Halving your refresh rate to 30 if your pc cant handle it 60 fps all the time

he also said that other games use the tripple buffering function to bypass this but nadeo refused to use this because of more latency... :roll:
That is the result of my research into the matter too.
pariah wrote:What i'm saying is, i've got this problem before in just cause 2, and then the dev of the game release a patch and it fixed this problem for me and my framerate does not go up and down like crazy from 60fps to 30fps. I can now got framerate between 40-60fps with vsync on.
Just Cause 2 patch notes:
Enable triple buffering when vsync is on
Source: http://forums.eidosgames.com/showthread.php?t=102151
Another method of triple buffering involves synchronizing with the monitor frame rate. Drawing is not done if both back buffers contain finished images that have not been displayed yet. This avoids wasting CPU drawing undisplayed images and also results in a more constant frame rate (smoother movement of moving objects), but with increased latency. This is the case when using triple buffering in DirectX, where a chain of 3 buffers are rendered and always displayed. [Emphases mine]
Source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multiple_b ... _buffering


While an increased latency might not be all that noticeable in some games (i.e. in Just Cause 2 the enemies are not all that unpredictable), introducing a significant output lag in TM2 where you need to respond to very subtle changes in car movement would be very little fun indeed.

A smooth, dynamic framerate, but of old frames, will not help you in TM2 I suspect. You would get a smooth display of a car that would be much harder to control.

pariah
Posts: 15
Joined: 16 Sep 2011, 14:01

Re: Vsync Problem

Post by pariah » 18 Sep 2011, 05:50

Ok then, now that's what i want to hear. Now that i know whats really going on, i'll just reduce some of the setting and race at 60fps.

Thanks paralipsis :thumbsup:

TechnoJellyfish
Posts: 45
Joined: 17 Aug 2011, 18:16

Re: Vsync Problem

Post by TechnoJellyfish » 18 Sep 2011, 12:06

pariah wrote:I don't care about your fancy tech talk
WTH is wrong with you? The guy makes an effort explaining to you how vsync works (because you're obviously too lazy to do a little bit of research) and as a result you're being rude? I don't get people nowadays ...

rat_in_car
Posts: 551
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 18:12
Contact:

Re: Vsync Problem

Post by rat_in_car » 20 Sep 2011, 08:48

You're right, I'm also sick of people who want explanation but are not able to understand anything if someone answer them.

It's really simply algorithm - your monior displays 60 FULL frames per second, not half frame because you FORCE to HOLD you display until full frame will be calculated! Any FPS below 60 means that game will not run on every frame on current settings.

MF = monitor frame display
GF = graphics card frame calculated

1. 1 MF - 70% GF - no frame ready
2. 2 MB - +30% GF (rest of first frame calculated) - frame display, but not calculating next one, because you force to WAIT for VSync
(and repeat forever)

WAIT means that your GFX card don't calculate unnecessary frames (and that's good for your GFX card, less heat etc.).

oggologgo
Posts: 3
Joined: 16 May 2013, 15:37

Re: Vsync Problem

Post by oggologgo » 01 Jun 2019, 22:32

TechnoJellyfish wrote:
18 Sep 2011, 12:06
pariah wrote:I don't care about your fancy tech talk
WTH is wrong with you? The guy makes an effort explaining to you how vsync works (because you're obviously too lazy to do a little bit of research) and as a result you're being rude? I don't get people nowadays ...
The problem is, that the explanation was wrong, I understand his frustration, when people that actually don't understand the issue, come with irrelevant and incorrect explanations and suggestions, and keep insisting they're right.

What I would consider rude, is when someone answered "<achievement>Congratulations, you've successfully activated the VSync option in TM2.</achievement>", followed by incorrect explanation of how vsync works. :/
Last edited by oggologgo on 01 Jun 2019, 22:58, edited 2 times in total.

Post Reply

Return to “Trackmania 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests