French player in Irish zone

Discuss everything related to Trackmania 2.

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
skalamanga
Posts: 87
Joined: 25 Aug 2011, 12:29

French player in Irish zone

Post by skalamanga » 10 Feb 2014, 19:16

Hi,

So I logged in toady and noticed a new player in the Irish zone. After a little search I found he is from Lacanau in France. So how can his times be in the Irish zone? Is it a bug or something? I found his log in online and sent a message but i doubt I'll hear back. How to remove him from the Irish zone? :cry:
Image

User avatar
jonthekiller
Translator
Translator
Posts: 4701
Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 11:07
Location: In Maniaplanet Alpha
Contact:

Re: French player in Irish zone

Post by jonthekiller » 10 Feb 2014, 19:33

It's not a bug because each player can choose his zone. It's not automatic.
Image

User avatar
skalamanga
Posts: 87
Joined: 25 Aug 2011, 12:29

Re: French player in Irish zone

Post by skalamanga » 10 Feb 2014, 20:49

So anybody can just decide to be in any zone at any time? What's the point in having zones then? This guy isn't Irish so he shouldn't be in the zone.
Image

TheBigG.
Posts: 404
Joined: 11 Jun 2011, 16:11

Re: French player in Irish zone

Post by TheBigG. » 10 Feb 2014, 21:44

skalamanga wrote:What's the point in having zones then?
there is no point for ranking, its simple to make join servers with players from your country easier
Client:
OS: Win10/Debian CPU: Intel 9900k GPU: NVIDIA 1080TI Display: 3x Acer Predator XB271HUbmiprz 1440p@165 Hz

Server:
OS: Debian Stable @ Backports Kernel CPU: Intel 6700k RAM: 32 GB Storage: 2x 256 GB NVMe SSD@Raid 1

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15270
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: French player in Irish zone

Post by TMarc » 10 Feb 2014, 22:25

skalamanga wrote:So anybody can just decide to be in any zone at any time? What's the point in having zones then?
At the account creation you can decide once. But if you want to change the zone later, it costs a lot of Planets.
skalamanga wrote:This guy isn't Irish so he shouldn't be in the zone.
So what? Why does it matter that much to you, or what is your real intention here?

Perhaps he has Irish roots?
He might have chosen Ireland by mistake, when he wanted to select France, but he clicked to fast?
Or he simply wants to climb the ladder faster there and show the Irish how to drive?

Anyways, you should be happy that there is one more player in your zone, where almost everywhere else there are complaints about missing players.

It is ManiaPlanet, not ManiaIreland after all ;)
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
Discord: TMarc#3002

User avatar
zootie
Posts: 268
Joined: 13 Jan 2011, 16:03
Location: SA
Contact:

Re: French player in Irish zone

Post by zootie » 11 Feb 2014, 11:37

TMarc wrote:... Or he simply wants to climb the ladder faster there and show the Irish how to drive?
:roflol:
Image

User avatar
Alter-Fox
Posts: 515
Joined: 17 Jun 2010, 16:50
Location: legitimate definitely i be total earthling

Re: French player in Irish zone

Post by Alter-Fox » 11 Feb 2014, 15:54

I was wondering when this thread would exist.
Ever since Maniazones started I thought this thread would eventually exist. I'd say "I told you so", except I didn't tell anyone...
The eyes of the plush lobster stared deep into my soul. I picked it up, and then I was a panther.
Beware my original music at https://vertigofox.bandcamp.com, & https://soundcloud.com/snowfoxden
Ship's Cat, MPSV Iberia

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15270
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: French player in Irish zone

Post by TMarc » 11 Feb 2014, 20:12

so it is a déjà-vu for you, of something you thought that would happen :lol:
but the discussion is not new, it was only never manifested in a singular thread ;)
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
Discord: TMarc#3002

User avatar
nighthawk4571
Posts: 573
Joined: 20 Aug 2011, 06:39
Location: QLD, Australia
Contact:

Re: French player in Irish zone

Post by nighthawk4571 » 12 Feb 2014, 04:07

We had a girl in our Clan for a few years - we all loved her. She was born in South Africa but moved to Australia, so when she created her account, she chose our 'Oceania' zone. We all loved her.
Not so long ago, after some relatives visited her, she became a little home-sick, so she paid out zillions of planets to change her zone to Africa. She was still living in Australia and still in our Clan and we all loved her.
More recently, she felt a change was needed, so she moved to a different Clan. That Clan is based in a completely different zone. We don't care because we all still love her.

So this girl has links to three different TM zones, two different TM Clans, two countries and (we all love this) ONE planet. <3 :pil
Nighthawk
Getting old, forgetting most of what I ever learned !
My name is Nighthawk. The 4571 used to be my IQ.
Image

Admin: http://bagracing.freeforums.org/portal.php
U-tUbe: https://www.youtube.com/user/bvnighthawk

User avatar
zootie
Posts: 268
Joined: 13 Jan 2011, 16:03
Location: SA
Contact:

Re: French player in Irish zone

Post by zootie » 12 Feb 2014, 10:38

Alter-Fox wrote:I was wondering when this thread would exist.
Ever since Maniazones started I thought this thread would eventually exist. I'd say "I told you so", except I didn't tell anyone...
Similar thread existing already years ago. Here's one from 2012 by the same OP :)

http://www.tm-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=42&t=29323

nighthawk4571 wrote:.. Not so long ago, after some relatives visited her, she became a little home-sick, so she paid out zillions of planets to change her zone to Africa ...
Good choice of zones :)
Image

Locked

Return to “Trackmania 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest