Setting a GIF as avatar?

Discuss everything related to Shootmania.

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
TheXPlaying
Posts: 146
Joined: 15 Mar 2013, 15:07
Location: Italy

Setting a GIF as avatar?

Post by TheXPlaying » 09 May 2013, 22:06

I've seen players with an animated avatar, so i tried to upload a GIF but i couldn't do it since it doesn't even recognize the format while browsing my folders. Does anybody knows how to do it?

Thanks! =)
http://www.youtube.com/TheXPlaying

"I just want to watch the world burn."

User avatar
steeffeen
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2472
Joined: 14 Oct 2012, 16:22
Location: Germany

Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

Post by steeffeen » 09 May 2013, 22:15

you will need a .bik file
i recommend Bink for making them
    Game Mode and Title Pack Creator, Developer, ShootMania-Player & more

    ManiaControl, FancyManiaLinks

    User avatar
    TheXPlaying
    Posts: 146
    Joined: 15 Mar 2013, 15:07
    Location: Italy

    Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

    Post by TheXPlaying » 09 May 2013, 22:36

    Thank you Steeffeen, i will try it! :)
    http://www.youtube.com/TheXPlaying

    "I just want to watch the world burn."

    User avatar
    TheXPlaying
    Posts: 146
    Joined: 15 Mar 2013, 15:07
    Location: Italy

    Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

    Post by TheXPlaying » 09 May 2013, 23:13

    Doesn't work :(
    http://www.youtube.com/TheXPlaying

    "I just want to watch the world burn."

    User avatar
    TMarc
    Posts: 15392
    Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
    Location: Europe
    Contact:

    Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

    Post by TMarc » 09 May 2013, 23:16

    As far as I remember, the bik avatar can only be 128x128 and shall not exceed 15kB size, so it is very restricted :|
    And it is possible that you have to close ManiaPlanet compeletely and restart it before it detects the new file.

    Edit: I did some additional search.
    Since a image avatar can also be 256x256, perhaps also the bik can have this dimension, but it must be one of the usual 2^x squared sizes.
    bik file size limitation is not confirmed but it is recommended in tutorials to keep it small.
    maniaplanet forum global moderator

    Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

    System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
    Discord: TMarc#3002

    User avatar
    TheXPlaying
    Posts: 146
    Joined: 15 Mar 2013, 15:07
    Location: Italy

    Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

    Post by TheXPlaying » 09 May 2013, 23:46

    K, thanks, will try again! :thumbsup:
    http://www.youtube.com/TheXPlaying

    "I just want to watch the world burn."

    User avatar
    TMarc
    Posts: 15392
    Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
    Location: Europe
    Contact:

    Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

    Post by TMarc » 10 May 2013, 01:14

    I just tried to create one myself. Indeed I had to close ManiaPlanet before it appeared on the list of avatar images in the profile.
    You have to browse through the flags, it is listed alphabetically.
    Once you select it, it appears animated in the profile.

    On a local server (the one of the client, no plugins), the avatar appears while chatting, but with only 56x56 there, so a bik with 64x64 is probably enough.

    Example:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/6tim96wfcbmbe ... _64x64.bik
    This was created from 4 images that let rotate the ring by 45°, assembled using Movie Maker, and converted using Rad Bink & Smacker tools.

    The displayed size might be adjustable with server plugins, but I'm not an expert for this ;)
    maniaplanet forum global moderator

    Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

    System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
    Discord: TMarc#3002

    User avatar
    TheXPlaying
    Posts: 146
    Joined: 15 Mar 2013, 15:07
    Location: Italy

    Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

    Post by TheXPlaying » 10 May 2013, 01:47

    Ok, i managed to do it.

    The problem was i was trying to select it by browsing through the folders, after selecting "Add avatar"; instead you have to place the .bik in "C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\ManiaPlanet\Skins\Avatars", that was the bit of information i was missing! :D

    Thanks for the help.
    http://www.youtube.com/TheXPlaying

    "I just want to watch the world burn."

    User avatar
    TMarc
    Posts: 15392
    Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
    Location: Europe
    Contact:

    Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

    Post by TMarc » 10 May 2013, 11:30

    yeah, right, if you use the "add avatar" button, only images are allowed.
    maniaplanet forum global moderator

    Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

    System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD
    Discord: TMarc#3002

    User avatar
    TheXPlaying
    Posts: 146
    Joined: 15 Mar 2013, 15:07
    Location: Italy

    Re: Setting a GIF as avatar?

    Post by TheXPlaying » 11 May 2013, 17:37

    Yesterday the animated avatar worked fine: it was animated everywhere it appeared.
    Today it's only animated in the top corners (where the players of the teams are shown) and on the image that briefly appears when you send a message in the chat, while on the scoreboard it's a still image... :?
    http://www.youtube.com/TheXPlaying

    "I just want to watch the world burn."

    Post Reply

    Return to “Shootmania”

    Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest