Extract track from replay

Discuss everything related to Trackmania 2.

Moderator: English Moderator

User avatar
Vrba
Posts: 182
Joined: 01 Jul 2014, 09:59

Extract track from replay

Post by Vrba » 18 Jul 2015, 09:06

I'm just curious if it would be somehow possible in the next update or something to add the function in replay options called ''Extrack Track/Map'' because I think it would be a nice thing, since many times you have the replay of a track and there's no way that you can get it anywhere anymore, and remaking it would remove the dedis. If extracted the map would be the same from same author and when added online it would also have the dedis that belong to it. Of course this option ''Extract'' could be the decision of author wether he wold like this to be possible or not. (maybe a checkbox at validation menu Enable/Disable extract fuction) And maybe there's also a converter Replay - Map, where you insert the replay and you get mapfile next to it, just like there was in TMNF/TMUF.

Thank you for your time to read my annoying post :P

Regards
Vrba
Image

CPU: Intel Core i7 7700K 4.20GHz
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080 Strix OC
Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix B250F Gaming
PSU: Corsair CS550M Modular 80+ Gold
RAM: 16GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666
SSD: 500GB Samsung 850 Evo 2.5"

User avatar
TMarc
Posts: 15138
Joined: 05 Apr 2011, 19:10
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Extract track from replay

Post by TMarc » 18 Jul 2015, 09:26

actually this function is not there by purpose.

There is already the decision of the author to use a password or not, this should be sufficient ;)
maniaplanet forum global moderator

Link list with FAQ, Support, Wiki, Tutorials, Community activities, and much more.

System specs: Intel i7-970 12GB RAM, nVidia RTX 2060 6GB, Creative SB X-Fi, 2xSSD 1xHDD

User avatar
Vrba
Posts: 182
Joined: 01 Jul 2014, 09:59

Re: Extract track from replay

Post by Vrba » 18 Jul 2015, 09:36

Some maps are not on any TMX/MX and are quite nice. The author password would still stay there, you would just be able to extract it and add to your server, without editing. My idea is based upon getting the Map out of the replay, nothing else. That checkbox was meant for the reason, when some players want their maps on their servers only, even if it is a bit lame.

Think of it this way, you're driving online and you think to yourself ''Damn that's one awesome map, I've got to hunt it in solo'' and then you see it's not on MX or even TMX for that matter. That's one example of what this function could be used for. :P
Last edited by Vrba on 18 Jul 2015, 09:38, edited 1 time in total.
Image

CPU: Intel Core i7 7700K 4.20GHz
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080 Strix OC
Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix B250F Gaming
PSU: Corsair CS550M Modular 80+ Gold
RAM: 16GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666
SSD: 500GB Samsung 850 Evo 2.5"

User avatar
Florenzius
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2503
Joined: 27 Jul 2014, 20:31
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Extract track from replay

Post by Florenzius » 18 Jul 2015, 09:38

Creative Director at unbitn studio - 3D Modeler for Pursuit - ManiaExchange Crew - ManiaPlanet Beta tester and Translator
___
MB - AM3+ 970 Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P
RAM - 16GB
CPU - AMD FX-8320E Enlight-Core
GPU - Nvidia GeForce GTX 960

User avatar
Vrba
Posts: 182
Joined: 01 Jul 2014, 09:59

Re: Extract track from replay

Post by Vrba » 18 Jul 2015, 09:40

ManiaDesign wrote:my tutorial: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxTf796zBZE
That's rather interesting, is it the same thing that works for TMNF/TMUF or is it another program that works the same, just for TM2 enviroments.
Image

CPU: Intel Core i7 7700K 4.20GHz
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080 Strix OC
Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix B250F Gaming
PSU: Corsair CS550M Modular 80+ Gold
RAM: 16GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666
SSD: 500GB Samsung 850 Evo 2.5"

User avatar
Florenzius
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2503
Joined: 27 Jul 2014, 20:31
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Extract track from replay

Post by Florenzius » 18 Jul 2015, 09:41

It works on all TM's
Creative Director at unbitn studio - 3D Modeler for Pursuit - ManiaExchange Crew - ManiaPlanet Beta tester and Translator
___
MB - AM3+ 970 Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P
RAM - 16GB
CPU - AMD FX-8320E Enlight-Core
GPU - Nvidia GeForce GTX 960

User avatar
Vrba
Posts: 182
Joined: 01 Jul 2014, 09:59

Re: Extract track from replay

Post by Vrba » 18 Jul 2015, 09:43

Ok, that's great, I downloaded it now. I appreciate you for showing me this, it's the exact thing I was hoping to exist.

Many thanks and have a good day sir! :)
Image

CPU: Intel Core i7 7700K 4.20GHz
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080 Strix OC
Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix B250F Gaming
PSU: Corsair CS550M Modular 80+ Gold
RAM: 16GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666
SSD: 500GB Samsung 850 Evo 2.5"

User avatar
Vrba
Posts: 182
Joined: 01 Jul 2014, 09:59

Re: Extract track from replay

Post by Vrba » 18 Jul 2015, 09:47

Hmm, funny thing is, that I converted the replay into the .gbx file and it's not shown in My Maps folder. Is it perhaps because the map isn't validated yet?
Image

CPU: Intel Core i7 7700K 4.20GHz
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080 Strix OC
Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix B250F Gaming
PSU: Corsair CS550M Modular 80+ Gold
RAM: 16GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666
SSD: 500GB Samsung 850 Evo 2.5"

User avatar
Florenzius
Translator
Translator
Posts: 2503
Joined: 27 Jul 2014, 20:31
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Extract track from replay

Post by Florenzius » 18 Jul 2015, 09:50

The Map.gbx-file is in the folder like your replay - if your replay is on desktop, the map is on desktop too and you can replace it to my maps
Creative Director at unbitn studio - 3D Modeler for Pursuit - ManiaExchange Crew - ManiaPlanet Beta tester and Translator
___
MB - AM3+ 970 Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3P
RAM - 16GB
CPU - AMD FX-8320E Enlight-Core
GPU - Nvidia GeForce GTX 960

User avatar
Vrba
Posts: 182
Joined: 01 Jul 2014, 09:59

Re: Extract track from replay

Post by Vrba » 18 Jul 2015, 09:51

So both files need to be in the same folder? Because I have the replay in a special folder made containing your RTC, but I moved the .gbx map file into my maps folder.
Last edited by Vrba on 18 Jul 2015, 09:55, edited 3 times in total.
Image

CPU: Intel Core i7 7700K 4.20GHz
GPU: GeForce GTX 1080 Strix OC
Motherboard: Asus ROG Strix B250F Gaming
PSU: Corsair CS550M Modular 80+ Gold
RAM: 16GB HyperX FURY DDR4-2666
SSD: 500GB Samsung 850 Evo 2.5"

Post Reply

Return to “Trackmania 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests